HIST 179H: Slavery and the U.S. Civil War: Books & Articles
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
Sample Subjects:
Enslaved persons -- America -- Social conditions
Slavery -- North Carolina -- History -- 18th century
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
Enslaved persons insurrections -- United States -- History
You can also pair these suggested subject headings with additional keywords on specific aspects of your topic.
To find primary resources, you can add keywords to your search, such as: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, artifacts, etc
Use the facets on the left side of the catalog to expand your search to Duke, NC State, and NCCU Libraries.
Finding Journals/Secondary Analysis
-
America, History and LifeAn index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Reference Works
-
Oxford African American Studies CenterCombines a rich array of historical and cultural information about the African American experience with selected primary documents, web sites, and maps. The material is compiled by Oxford University Press from their many reference works, such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, various Oxford Companions, and the African American National Biography.
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations. -
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American HistoryProvides definitive long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars, with new and revised articles added each month on a wide array of topics and from international perspectives. Covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Carolina BLU and Interlibrary Loan
ILL and Carolina BLU can help you get a copy of books or articles that we don't own, but it's also where you can place an item on hold or request a scan of an article not available online!
Subject Specific Databases
We have additional history specific databases, as well as hundreds of databases covering other fields.
-
UNC Databases for United States HistoryA sub-section within general history covering databases with a U.S. history focus.
-
UNC databases for HistoryA collection of databases that cover general history. (See E-Research by Discipline for specific areas of focus within History)
-
E-Research by DisciplineSelect a subject area from this list to find the top resources for each discipline.
Searching Within a Journal
If you find a specific journal title that is relevant to your topic, you can search for the title in our catalog. After clicking on the button for "Full text available via the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries" button, it will take you to a screen similar to the one above where you can search inside the journal.