AMST 486/JWST 486: The Jewish South: Southern Jewish Museums and Archives

Established in 2003, the Carolina Center for Jewish Studies, an interdisciplinary academic program in the College of Arts and Sciences, promotes a deeper understanding of Jewish history, culture and thought through its teaching, research and community outreach initiatives.

Long at the center of inquiry into the history and culture of the American South, the Southern Historical Collection (SHC) is a rich collection of unique primary documents, such as diaries, journals, letters, correspondence, photographs, maps, drawings, ledgers, oral histories, moving images, albums, scrapbooks, and literary manuscripts.

Documenting life in the 20th-century South through interviews

The Southern Folklife Collection (SFC) ranks as one of the nation's foremost archival resources for the study of American folk music and popular culture. SFC holdings extensively document all forms of southern musical and oral traditions across the entire spectrum of individual and community expressive arts, as well as mainstream media production.

Embracing critical conversations and creative expressions for a diverse and changing South

The Breman, Atlanta's Jewish Museum is home to the permanent exhibition Absence of Humanity: The Holocaust Years, 1933-1945; the Blonder Family Gallery dedicated to Southern Jewish History; and the Schwartz Gallery, which hosts a variety of traveling and rotating exhibitions. The Museum Library and Cuba Family Archives add to our on-site offerings while The Weinberg Center for Holocaust Education provides a wonderful educational resource for students, teachers, and lifelong learners.

The Museum of the Southern Jewish Experience explores the many ways that Jews in the American South influenced and were influenced by the distinct cultural heritage of their new homes. Through exhibits, collections and programs focused on the unique and remarkable history of Southern Jews, the Museum encourages new understanding and appreciation for identity, diversity, and acceptance.

The Jewish Museum of Florida-FIU (JMOF-FIU) established in 1995, is the only museum dedicated to telling the story of more than 250 years of Florida Jewish history, arts and culture, with a growing collection of more than 100,000 items.

This is a link to the Judaic art collection.

The museum is a vibrant place for dialog and reflection on Jewish past and present in Germany.

Jewish Heritage North Carolina is the only statewide organization dedicated to collect, preserve and present the history of the Jewish people of our State. To serve our mission we honor our history, celebrate our culture, and connect our communities.

The Jewish Historical Society of South Carolina was founded in 1994 to study, preserve, and promote awareness of the history and culture of the Jews of South Carolina.