Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

WGST233: Introduction to Latina Literature: Finding Articles

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
JSTOR
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Project Muse
Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies
Proquest Central
A general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Language: Various

Specialized Databases

Gale Literature Resource Center
Offers a wealth of critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Coverage: Classical Period to Present
GenderWatch
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: mid 1970s-present
glbtq: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, & queer culture
A full-text online encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture. Especially strong coverage in literature and the arts.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: Antiquity to Present
Global Health
A public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
International Women’s Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
Provides access to the full text of some significant and not widely held women's periodicals produced in the period 1786-1933; strong for writing relating to suffrage.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1786-1933
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
MLA International Bibliography
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1884-present
Language: Various

Selected Latinx Journals

Chicana/Latina Studies- "Chicana/Latina Studies: The Journal of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social is the interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, flagship twice-yearly publication of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social (MALCS)."

Latino Studies- "Explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States."

CENTRO Journal- "The leading peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated entirely to to the field of Puerto Rican Studies."

Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies- "An interdisciplinary, international, and peer-reviewed journal housed in the Office of Latino/Latin AmericanStudies (OLLAS) at the University of Nebraska at Omaha."

Aztlán: A Journal of Chicano Studies- "Aztlán has been the leading journal in the field of Chicanx studies since 1970. Aztlán is issued twice a year."

MELUS- MELUS features articles, interviews, and reviews encompassing the multi-ethnic scope of American literature past and present.

Label Me Latina/o- An online, refereed international e-journal that focuses on Latino literary production in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.