Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

HISTORY 315H: Nation-Building in Latin America: Articles

A Selection of Latin American Journals

Hispanic American Historical Review

Publishes vital work across thematic, chronological, regional, and methodological specializations, and stands as the most widely respected journal in the field.

Latin American Research Review

The premier interdisciplinary journal that publishes original research and surveys of current research on Latin America and the Caribbean.

Bulletin of Latin American Research

Publishes original research of current interest on Latin America, the Caribbean, inter-American relations & the Latin American Diaspora from all academic disciplines within the social sciences, history & cultural studies.

Journal of Latin American Studies

Presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology, economic history and cultural history.

Colonial Latin American Review

A unique interdisciplinary journal devoted to the study of the colonial period in Latin America. CLAR offers a variety of scholarly approaches and formats, including articles, debates, review-essays and book reviews.

Recommended Databases

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography of the humanities and social sciences produced by Latin Americanist scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Tthe multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1935-present
HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1970-present
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1953-present
Latin America & Iberia Database
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
Provides mediated content by recognized scholars of the particular areas. Each bibliographic essay is peer-reviewed, and the entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (Redalyc)
This site is a portal providing free access to full-text articles published in 1138 different Latin American, Iberian and Caribbean journals covering a variety of topics in the areas of science and technology, social sciences, and humanities.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Coverage: Variable depending upon journal
Access: Primarily Spanish
SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
A model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. It contains scores of journals in all subjects published in Latin America and Spain. This archive includes complete electronic editions of print titles from the 1990s onward. You can search by author, title word, subject, institutional affiliations, or year; you also can limit searching by country of origin, subject category, or journal title.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1990s-
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, brings together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Women's Studies International
Interdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1964 -

Multidisciplanary and General Databases

Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
JSTOR
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Project Muse
Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies
Proquest Central
A general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Language: Various