Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Drama 488 U.S. Latiné Theatre and Performance: Finding Texts

This guide is meant to support students on their semester-long research project.

Finding Books

One good strategy when you are searching the library catalog is to begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant books. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the item's Library of Congress Subject Headings within the item's full record tab and follow the subject heading links in the catalog to find other, similar or related books.

Keywords: Latinos US history
- Associated Subject Heading: Hispanic Americans -- History
Keyword: Latinos -- bibliography

You can then refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.

When searching for a specific Latino group, you may also want to be specific in your search terms:

Databases for Latinx Studies

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography of the humanities and social sciences produced by Latin Americanist scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Tthe multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1935-present
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection (Series 1 & 2)
Archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.