ENGL 207: Intermediate Poetry Workshop : Items From The Orchard

Poetry. Women's Studies. LGBTQIA Studies. "LOVE DREAM WITH TELEVISION wonders through the ways in which television, film, advertising, sporting events, and celebrity culture weave their ways into our lived experiences not only of the world but of ourselves: our relationships, our identity structures, our politics, our daily lived experiences of bookstores, national parks, museums, going to the gym. It's a book informed by the place and community in which it was written; Tucson and its queers have pushed me to be more in my body, more in conversation with place and spirit and alchemy. The body that wrote this book was stretching more, trying to breathe and look around and feel."--Hannah Ensor

Settling St. Malo brings readers back to a time when Louisiana had the largest Filipino population in the United States-when Filipinos fished out of St. Malo, dried shrimp on Barataria Bay, and designed Mardi Gras floats in New Orleans. Poet Randy Gonzales explores the history of Louisiana's nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Filipino communities and his family's story of migration and assimilation through a blend of documentary and lyrical poetry. Settling St. Malo is a history of Filipino Louisiana in verse and an ode to the struggles of our immigrant ancestors, a collection of poems whose substance, language, and rhythms are informed by oral histories, diaries, letters, and government documents - poems infused with cultural and visual landscapes and driven by a poet's desire to account for a lost heritage.

Literary Nonfiction. Poetry. DEFACING THE MONUMENT opens with the narration of an Operation Streamline hearing, a proceeding during which as many as 70 undocumented migrants are criminally prosecuted and sentenced en masse to serve jail time prior to deportation. It's an attempt to bear witness to what happens to those who do not hold the "correct" documents as a way to show texts always bear the marks of power. Documentary poetics offers a tradition and a form through which a writer can situate events or experiences within broad social and historical contexts. It can provide a space to record, to unearth, to witness, and to contextualize. But we can't fetishize the document. And we must use it with an eye toward our own complicity and participation in the systems we wish to investigate. Part documentary act, part lyric essay, part criticism, DEFACING THE MONUMENT enacts the possibilities and limits of documentary impulses. "... a superb examination of the ethical issues facing artists who tell others' stories, within the context of undocumented immigration and her work teaching creative writing at the University of Arizona, in this dazzlingly inventive and searching text."--Publisher's Weekly

This Isabella Gardner Poetry Award-winning book-length poem is a medley of voices in dialogue with each other--overheard, remembered, and internal--that represents a mind at work as it considers the destructiveness of human nature, the hypocrisy and artifice of the American dream. Voices from personal conversations, political speeches, Guantanamo detainees, news reports, and famous poets fill these pages, ultimately capturing a world of disrupted beauty and unrealized potential. Christian Barter is the author of two previous poetry collections: In Someone Else's House and The Singers I Prefer. Living in Bar Harbor, ME, he is the centennial Poet Laureate of Acadia National Park.

Literary Nonfiction. California Interest. Contributors include: Stephen Collis, CAConrad, Matthew Cooperman & Aby Kaupang, Adam Dickinson, Suzi F. Garcia, Brenda Hillman, Brenda Iijima, Anna Lena Phillips Bell, Lucas de Lima, Eric Magrane, Joyelle McSweeney, Julie Patton, Craig Santos Perez, Evelyn Reilly, Linda Russo, Metta S#65533;ma, Kaia Sand, Kate Schapira, Jonathan Skinner, Cecilia Vicu#65533;a. "BIG ENERGY POETS: ECOPOETRY THINKS CLIMATE CHANGE, is more than another book on climate change, these disparate authors are collectively voices in the same struggle: How to ensure the planet's survival, where planet and body (human or otherwise) are not separate but synonymous, are inextricably tied. There is a necessary insistence in this anthology on the body politic being the earth's politic. Together, this is a creative treatise toward the integrity of continuance, and against fear of the other, the 'other' being as much 'nature' as person. The introduction asks, 'Why poetry?' to confront the urgency of climate change and all of its implications and causalities. The answer is found in the challenge taken up by these poets as they allow us access to both their poetry and their process. Here authors utilize their critical and creative practices to forward a conversation we can simply not afford to ignore. Race, gender, genocide, these poets are asking questions and further, daring to question themselves. It may surprise some how many of the poets feel the poem as inhabiting the body and it becomes easier through that understanding to see how the poet, the body of the poet, connects to the land, to the environments in which they find themselves. Indeed, several of these poets even as they put words to the page in all manner of formats and styles, literally put their bodies on the line that marks the difference between apathy and action by marching, picketing and refusing to stop creating or privileging the power of the imagination to alter our course. Read this, powerful, instructional and inspiring, it does what we want poetry to do, move us. The writing of poetry can make one adept at discerning systems, correlations, and interconnections. Ecopoetry is the nexus of science, activism and poetics. From Anna Lena Phillips Bell's intimate litanies of trees that bring to mind the names of children in a class ledger, to Lucas de Lima's take on transmogrification, to Meta Sama's evocative conflations of 'hair,' 'river' and 'sand,' here we find the polemics of universal intersectionality, a necessary embracement, where we all have something at stake and at risk. As Brenda Hillman writes in her essay, A Brutal Encounter Recollected in Tranquility, writing may be your most necessary action but you can't be the only one."--Vievee Francis

Poetry. African & African American Studies. Newcomer and Sawtooth Poetry Prize winner Jonah Mixon-Webster urgently considers the poetics of space and body, of race and region, of sexuality and class in the present day-- the water crisis in Flint, Michigan; systemic racism--within the architecture of the current collective crisis and imagination. To take up space in an experimental way, through lyric, sound and conceptual art, this collection activates the contentious trope of "The Real Nigga" as zombie (embodiment of the thing already dead), linguistic substrata (the basis and site of identity through language formation and synthesis), and as precursor for colonizing archetypes (in the Jungian sense--an unconscious, collectively inherited idea that develops into socially constructed and consciously typified symbols of human identity and function). He challenges current stereotypes through the character's experience and through mythology; "Now this nigga Niggaphus was the darkest 'mortal' anybody had ever seen in Greece."

In his poetry, writer and mountaineer C. L. Rawlins evokes the natural world and the American West in exciting detail. Philosophical, harsh, beautiful, gritty, in his poems Rawlins reveals himself to be a "non-romantic Romantic." A mountaineer and field hydrologist, he expertly approaches nature and the environment without sentimentality. In this second collection of his poetry, Rawlins speaks of many of the major issues of our time, in accessible yet wonderfully crafted poems. Rawlins treats the world of the human heart with wit and humor and great humanity.

Rewild is a collection of documentary lyric poetry that explores places that, having been ravaged by war and environmental plunder, have since been abandoned to regenerate and restore. At this moment where we find ourselves in the Anthropocene, the poems hover between ruin and restoration. They open ways we can ask transformative questions and turn ourselves into these questions that begin to tunnel through difficulty and despair into "another spreadsheet than human ... chromosomal and intricate." To begin to unbuy ourselves, to rewild our communal lives.

A reinvestigation of chemical biological weapons dropped on the Hmong people in the fallout of the Vietnam WarIn this staggering work of documentary, poetry, and collage, Mai Der Vang reopens a wrongdoing that deserves a new reckoning. As the United States abandoned them at the end of the Vietnam War, many Hmong refugees recounted stories of a mysterious substance that fell from planes during their escape from Laos starting in the mid-1970s. This substance, known as "yellow rain," caused severe illnesses and thousands of deaths. These reports prompted an investigation into allegations that a chemical biological weapon had been used against the Hmong in breach of international treaties. A Cold War scandal erupted, wrapped in partisan debate around chemical arms development versus control. And then, to the world's astonishment, American scientists argued that yellow rain was the feces of honeybees defecating en masse--still held as the widely accepted explanation. The truth of what happened to the Hmong, to those who experienced and suffered yellow rain, has been ignored and discredited.Integrating archival research and declassified documents, Yellow Rain calls out the erasure of a history, the silencing of a people who at the time lacked the capacity and resources to defend and represent themselves. In poems that sing and lament, that contend and question, Vang restores a vital narrative in danger of being lost, and brilliantly explores what it means to have access to the truth and how marginalized groups are often forbidden that access.

The ideal introduction to the current generation of American poets Understanding the current moment in poetry can be a difficult task, as the reader must sort among the avant-garde and mainstream, the traditional and the experimental. A welcome introduction to contemporary poetics, this collection represents one of the first attempts to chart the progress of a new generation of poets. Each chapter focuses on one poet, and includes a selection of poems, a brief statement of purpose by the poet, and a critical essay by a notable scholar. Working in forms ranging from the post-confessional lyric to documentary poetics, from the prose poem and the sonnet to sound poetry, these thirteen poets rank among the most notable and distinct of recent years. American Poets in the 21st Century will serve as a useful and enlightening guide for any reader interested in how new American poetry can look, feel, and sound. The enclosed CD includes each of the thirteen poets reading their work. Poets include: Joshua Clover, Stacy Doris, Peter Gizzi, Kenneth Goldsmith, Myung Mi Kim, Mark Levine, Tracie Morris, Mark Nowak, D.A. Powell, Juliana Spahr, Karen Volkman, Susan Wheeler, and Kevin Young. Hardcover is un-jacketed.

Definitive and daring,The Ecopoetry Anthology is the authoritative collection of contemporary American poetry about nature and the environment--in all its glory and challenge. From praise to lament, the work covers the range of human response to an increasingly complex and often disturbing natural world and inquires of our human place in a vastness beyond the human. To establish the antecedents of today's writing,The Ecopoetry Anthology presents a historical section that includes poetry written from roughly the mid-nineteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Iconic American poets like Walt Whitman and Emily Dickinson are followed by more modern poets like Wallace Stevens, William Carlos Williams, Ezra Pound, and even more recent foundational work by poets like Theodore Roethke, Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Hayden, and Muriel Rukeyser. With subtle discernment, the editors portray our country's rich heritage and dramatic range of writing about the natural world around us.

NPR Best Books of 2019 Chicago Tribune Best Books of 2019 Chicago Review of Books Best Poetry Book of 2019 O Magazine Best Books by Women of Summer 2019 The Millions Must-Read Poetry of June 2019 LitHub Most Anticipated Reads of Summer 2019 The Chicago Race Riot of 1919, the most intense of the riots comprising the nation's Red Summer, has shaped the last century but is not widely discussed. In 1919, award-winning poet Eve L. Ewing explores the story of this event--which lasted eight days and resulted in thirty-eight deaths and almost 500 injuries--through poems recounting the stories of everyday people trying to survive and thrive in the city. Ewing uses speculative and Afrofuturist lenses to recast history, and illuminates the thin line between the past and the present.

The High Sierra of California is a brilliant tribute to the bold, jagged peaks that have inspired generations of naturalists, artists, and writers. Using traditional Japanese and European woodcut techniques, Killion has created stunning visual images of the Sierra that focus on the backcountry above nine thousand feet, accessible only on foot. Accompanying these riveting images are the journals of Gary Snyder, chronicling more than forty years of travels through the High Sierra backcountry.

In the late nineteenth century and early twentieth, hundreds of amateur photographers took part in the photographic survey movement in England. They sought to record the material remains of the English past so that it might be preserved for future generations. In The Camera as Historian, the groundbreaking historical and visual anthropologist Elizabeth Edwards works with an archive of nearly 55,000 photographs taken by 1,000 photographers, mostly unknown until now. She approaches the survey movement and its social and material practices ethnographically. Considering how the amateur photographers understood the value of their project, Edwards links the surveys to concepts of leisure, understandings of the local and the national, and the rise of popular photography. Her examination of how the photographers negotiated between scientific objectivity and aesthetic responses to the past leads her to argue that the survey movement was as concerned with the conditions of its own modernity and the creation of an archive for an anticipated future as it was nostalgic about the imagined past. Including more than 120 vibrant images, The Camera as Historian offers new perspectives on the forces that shaped Victorian and Edwardian Britain, as well as on contemporary debates about cultural identity, nationality, empire, material practices, and art.

National parks are the places that present ideas of nature to Americans: Zion, Yosemite, Grand Canyon, Yellowstone bring to mind quintessential and awe-inspiring wilderness. By examining how rhetoric--particularly visual rhetoric--has worked to shape our views of nature and the "natural" place of humans, Observation Points offers insights into questions of representation, including the formation of national identity. As Thomas Patin reveals, the term "nature" is artificial and unstable, in need of constant maintenance and reconstruction. The process of stabilizing its representation, he notes, is unavoidably political. America's national parks and monuments show how visual rhetoric operates to naturalize and stabilize representations of the environment. As contributors demonstrate, visual rhetoric is often transparent, structuring experience while remaining hidden in plain sight. Scenic overlooks and turnouts frame views for tourists. Visitor centers, with their display cases and photographs and orientation films, provide their own points of view--literally and figuratively. Guidebooks, brochures, and other publications present still other ways of seeing. At the same time, images of America's "natural" world have long been employed for nationalist and capitalist ends, linking expansionism with American greatness and the "natural" triumph of European Americans over Native Americans. The essays collected here cover a wide array of subjects, including park architecture, landscape painting, public ceremonies, and techniques of display. Contributors are from an equally broad range of disciplines--art history, geography, museum studies, political science, American studies, and many other fields. Together they advance a provocative new visual genealogy of representation. Contributors: Robert M. Bednar, Southwestern U, Georgetown, Texas; Teresa Bergman, U of the Pacific; Albert Boime, UCLA; William Chaloupka, Colorado State U; Gregory Clark, Brigham Young U; Stephen Germic, Rocky Mountain College; Gareth John, St. Cloud State U, Minnesota; Mark Neumann, Northern Arizona U; Peter Peters, Maastricht U; Cindy Spurlock, Appalachian State U; David A. Tschida, U of Wisconsin, Eau Claire; Sabine Wilke, U of Washington.

Living at the limits of our ordinary perception, mosses are a commonbut largely unnoticed element of the natural world. GatheringMoss is a beautifully written mix of science and personalreflection that invites readers to explore and learn from the elegantlysimple lives of mosses.

Outgrowth of a photographic exhibition sponsored by the National Park Foundation

A catalog of tools, information sources, equipment, and manufacturers in the areas of land use, technology, crafts, daily life, politics, and communications