Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
ENGL 693H: Honors Thesis Creative Writing: Digital Collections
Digital Archives
Digital collections of primary sources are online databases that bring together historical materials such as letters, diaries, newspapers, photographs, government documents, and ephemera. They often are collected around a particular theme and/or time period and may include curated essays or contextual information to support your research. These collections allow you to explore primary sources at any time, from any location, with the assistance of powerful search tools.
In-Class Examples
-
Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power MovementAmiri Baraka is the author of over 40 books of essays, poems, drama, and music history and criticism, a poet icon and revolutionary political activist. As a young man in the 1960s, Baraka (then known as LeRoi Jones) galvanized a second Black Renaissance, the Black Arts movement. The ideological and political transformations of Amiri Baraka from a Beat poet in Greenwich Village into a militant political activist in Harlem and Newark was paradigmatic for the Black Revolt of the 1960s.
- Series XVI: Oral Histories, 1984-1986: Wilnora Holman, 1984. 1984. MS Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement. Atlanta-Fulton Public Library. Archives Unbound, link.gale.com/apps/doc/SC5105828988/GDSC?u=unc_main&sid=bookmark-GDSC&xid=2caa4d5c&pg=1
-
Food and Drink in HistoryPrimary source collection consisting of printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government documents, marketing reports, films and illustrated content from around the globe documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere (1514-1980). Highlights of Module I include the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.
- 1930. Anonymous recipe book, 1930. [Manuscript Cookbook]. Available through: Adam Matthew, Marlborough, Food And Drink in History, http://www.foodanddrink.amdigital.co.uk.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/Documents/Details/UMICH_JBLCA_PB_39015100066862
- Gilmore, Dorothy. 1919. Dorothy Gilmore recipe book. Available through: Adam Matthew, Marlborough, Food And Drink in History, http://www.foodanddrink.amdigital.co.uk.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/Documents/Details/UMICH_JBLCA_PB_39015099095559
-
Gale Primary Sources: Archives of Sexuality & GenderPrimary source collection (16th century to 2014) for LGBTQIA+, gender, and sexuality studies, sourced from American, Australian, British, Canadian, and South African Archives. Consists of three series: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 (1940-2014); Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture (20th century).
- "The Herland Voice September, 1997 Vol. 15 Issue. 9." Herland Voice, vol. 15, no. 9, Sept. 1997. Archives of Sexuality and Gender, link-gale-com.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/apps/doc/SDDYHY111524228/AHSI?u=unc_main&sid=bookmark-AHSI&pg=1&xid=9a6cea18.
- "Inside Out Youth The Newsletter of Out Youth Austin September 1996 Vol. 5 Issue. 2." Inside Out Youth: The Newsletter of Out Youth Austin, vol. 5, no. 2, Sept. 1996, pp. 1+. Archives of Sexuality and Gender, link-gale-com.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/apps/doc/TJAFER266291530/AHSI?u=unc_main&sid=bookmark-AHSI&pg=7&xid=cdcbe690.
-
Newspapers.com (North Carolina Newspapers)Provides access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present. UNC users have access to a large selection of North Carolina newspapers through a partnership between Newspapers.com and the UNC University Library.
Note: Please clear your browser's cache and cookies if you are having problems accessing this resource
NC Resources and Other Archives
-
The Daily Tar HeelFull text of articles back to 2001.
-
The Daily Tar HeelSearch the full text of the Daily Tar Heel from 1893 - 2008
-
Documenting the American SouthDocumenting the American South (DocSouth) provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. DocSouth includes seven digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.
-
Oral Histories of the American SouthThree-year project to select, digitize and make available 500 oral history interviews gathered by the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP).
Secondary Sources
-
MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
Schaefer, Heike. 2024. “Un/Published: Presence and Absence in Contemporary Erasure Poetry.” American Literary History 36 (2): 463–88. https://login.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1093/alh/ajae039.