HIST 398: Slavery and Freedom: Blacks in North America

Combines a rich array of historical and cultural information about the African American experience with selected primary documents, web sites, and maps. The material is compiled by Oxford University Press from their many reference works, such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, various Oxford Companions, and the African American National Biography.

An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

This collection, containing full-text, "presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds." (publisher website). Thirteen migrations are detailed, including the transatlantic slave trade, the domestic slave trade, the "Great Migration" (within the United States), and Caribbean migration.

African-American Poetry, 1760-1900 is an invaluable resource, containing nearly 3,000 poems written by African American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. This resource is helpful not only for literary scholars, but for researchers in black studies, linguistics, women's studies, the black literary heritage and comparative studies.

The collection offers unique insights into the creative mind and reflects the conditions of early America and the role of black Americans during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The poetry explores a multitude of topics, including abolition, children, civil rights, dreams, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, political issues, prejudice and slavery.

Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. The collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.

Contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. See web site's "Database Description" for detailed information about individual newspapers. (Source: vendor website.)

Presents 397 pamphlets from the Library of Congress Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington. From Slavery to Freedom complements African-American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907.

Index of over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence from Colonial times through 1950.

Ante-bellum Southern plantation records such as journals, crop books, account books, diaries, and letters document the lives of both owners and slaves. Material is drawn from major repositories across the South, including the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.