Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Earlier editions available in print at Davis Library.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password. Coverage: 2013 - Present
Provides web-based access to United States Census data from 1790 to the present, and to other U.S. and international data, with the ability to make tables and interactive maps easily or export data for analysis. Data include the most commonly used variables and geographies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Covers historical annual time series data on American economic, social, political, demographic, and institutional history. Essays place the data in historical context. Download data in Excel or CSV.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Pre-Colonial America to the present
The Odum Institute maintains one of the oldest and largest catalog of machine-readable data in the U.S. It has an extensive collection of U.S. Census data, including one of the most complete holdings for 1970 Census files. Other major sources of data include the North Carolina State Data Center, which distributes North Carolina census data.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data. ICPSR provides Web access to data files and documentation for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. The ICPSR data holdings contains more than 500,000 files that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Individual registration and adherence to responsible use statement are required.
Note: Off-campus access available if individual's account is created on campus or while authenticated.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies
Early Maps of the American South provides links to many different maps covering areas of the southern United States, from the 16th through the 18th centuries.
UNC's North Carolina Maps collection contains over 3000 maps of North Carolina from the 1500's to 2000 available online. The collection includes both maps of the entire state and more specific maps detailing individual counties and local areas.
The University of South Carolina has digitized and made available many of the Sanborn fire insurance maps for South Carolina from 1884 to the 1960's. These large-scale maps are great for tracking changes in a city over time, or learning the layout of a city in a given year.
A richly indexed collection of photographs, prints, and other visual materials that includes photographic portraits of Civil War officers and enlisted men; recruitment posters from the North and South; illustrated envelopes and cartes-de-visite; etchings and engravings representing battle views and key historical events; and satiric cartoons from a wide range of periodicals. A generous gift from Howard Holsenbeck, Class of '63, enabled the Library to acquire this database.
Note: This resource is still in its beta version.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
The photographic archives at Wilson Library contains a large number of photographs from the nineteenth century through the present. Although most collections are focused on North Carolina places and people, many collections, such as the C. Ford Peatross Collection on William Nichols and the Bayard Morgan Wootten Collection contain images from throughout the American South. Some images have been digitized and are available electronically.