ENGL 494 : Research Methods in Film Studies : Books, Articles, and Films
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen
"Motion pictures -- Aesthetics"
"Motion pictures -- Study and teaching"
"African Americans in the motion picture industry"
"Women motion picture producers and directors"
"Feminism and motion pictures"
Search for films BY a director as an Author search; search for books ABOUT a director as a Subject search.
- Author: "Haynes, Todd"
- Subject: "Haynes, Todd"
Use the facets on the left side of the catalog to expand your search to Duke, NC State, and NCCU Libraries. To expand your search even further, try searching WorldCat.
-
WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Article Databases
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusCreated by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
-
Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and tv reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, as well as pop culture related to film and tv. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity.
Film and Television Literature Index is the new and expanded online version of the print title, Film Literature Index. Those volumes are on Row 17, Davis Reference Department, and cover 1973 to 2004. -
MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the material you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
For More Info...
Searching Within a Journal
If you find a specific journal title that is relevant to your topic, you can search for the title in our catalog. After clicking on the button for "Full text available via the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries" button, it will take you to a screen similar to the one above where you can search inside the journal. More search functionality will be found within the database, but this search strategy is especially useful if years of coverage are across multiple databases.
FilmFinder
-
FilmFinderFrom the Media & Design Center in the Undergraduate Library.