ECON 691H: Honors Thesis in Economics: Find Articles

Economics-specific

Other potentially relevant databases

Databases for dissertations and theses

Things to Remember

Use economics databases and databases from other disciplines to find wide-ranging, relevant literature. Look for dissertations and theses on your topic and use their cited references.

Note the difference between peer-reviewed literature and working papers. Working papers are often timely and valid to use, but haven't gone through formal peer review. Anatomy of a Scholarly Article shows the typical sections of peer-reviewed literature.

Scopus is good for identifying and ranking key journals and highly-cited articles.

Install UnPaywall browser extentsion for free full-text articles

1. Go to unpaywall.org.
2. Click "Get the extension"
3. UnPaywall will provide links for free full-text articles when available

Get library access through Google Scholar

1. Go to the UNC Libraries customized settings screen and click "Save."
2. If you’re logged into a Google account, it will remember that setting from now on.

Install UnPaywall browser extentsion for free full-text articles

1. Go to unpaywall.org.
2. Click "Get the extension"
3. UnPaywall will provide links for free full-text articles when available

Get library access through Google Scholar

1. Go to the Google Scholar homepage.
2. Click on the 3 lines in the top left corner, select settings.
3. Choose "Library Links" from the menu on the left side.
4. Search for "University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill - Find article @ UNC".
5. Check the box next to the appropriate name.