Legal News Sources:
The following is a list of legal news resources covering news in a variety of practice areas. The links and instructions provided below are for the online digital publications of all titles, and all will be in HTML format. Any availability in print will also be noted. Access restrictions are included for each individual news source, as some of these titles require access to subscription databases.
-
- Availability: Electronic access is available via Factiva (2001 to present) or Law.com (2015-present). The Law Library also carries the most recent editions in print (2015-2016) and has a small collection of previous issues on microfilm (late 1990s). You can view the print collection in the Law Library catalog.
- Brief Description: The American Lawyer covers news on legal business, law firms, and lawyers across the U.S. The American Lawyer also produces several well-known surveys and rankings for law firms, including the Am Law 100 and Am Law 200.
- Access Restrictions: The subscription through Factiva is available to the UNC community, but public patrons must use a computer connected to the UNC network to access it. The subscription through Law.com is available only to UNC Law students and faculty.
-
- Availability: Bloomberg Law Reports and Law Analysis are accessible online through the Bloomberg Law database. Neither available in print.
- Brief Description: Bloomberg Law Reports consist of individual legal news publications that focus on a variety of practice areas, and the online database allows users to search for specific titles or browse within practice areas. Some of the practice areas that are covered include: antitrust, banking, corporate, criminal law, intellectual property, labor/employment, and tax, among others.
- Access Restrictions: Bloomberg Law is only available to UNC Law students and faculty.
-
- Availability: FindLaw is a part of Thomson Reuters and seeks to provide the public with free online access to legal materials. The Legal News Pulse is not available in print.
- Brief Description: The legal news section on FindLaw's website provides brief coverage of major legal news stories. The website is geared for public use, rather than for use by legal practitioner's, and thus filters news stories into categories like: business, employment, personal injury, and sports.
- Access Restrictions: No restrictions. This is a publicly-accessible website.
-
- Availability: Electronic access is available via Factiva (2001 to present) or Law.com (2015-present). The Law Library also carries the most recent editions in print (2015-2016) and has a large collection of past issues on microfilm (1975-present). You can view the print collection in the Law Library catalog.
- Brief Description: The National Law Journal focuses on major legal news in the areas of federal and state court litigation, the U.S. Supreme Court, and legislative issues. It also offers articles on legal trends of interest to practitioners.
- Access Restrictions: The subscription through Factiva is available to the UNC community, but public patrons must use a computer connected to the UNC network to access it. The subscription through Law.com is available only to UNC Law students and faculty.
-
- Availability: Electronic access is available through the UNC Law Library. Some of the law journals and magazines provided through Law.com are also available in print at the Law Library, so be sure to check the law library catalog.
- Brief Description: Provides access to several ALM law journal and magazine titles including: National Law Journal, American Lawyer, Legal Times, and the New York Law Journal.
- Access Restrictions: Access to Law.com is only available to UNC Law students and faculty.
-
- Availability: Electronic access is available through the UNC Law Library. There is no print access to these materials.
- Brief Description: Law360 covers litigation, policy developments, corporate deals, and legal news in multiple practice areas and jurisdictions.
- Access Restrictions: Access to Law.com is only available to UNC Law students and faculty.
