Movies Make History: Films as Primary Sources of American and European Histories, 1908-1991: Find a Film at UNC

Projectr - a collection of fictional narrative, shorts, documentary and educational films on a wide array of humanities, arts, global cultures and social justice topics

AVON -  70,000+ titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; primarily documentaries and educational film. search by title, subject, or related-

Docuseek - a collection of documentaries and educational films geared toward a wide range of disciplines

Swank Digital Campus - feature films and documentaries requested for specific course reserves

NC Live - Films On Demand - a wide collection of documentary, educational and news or speech related media on a wide range of subject areas. you can search for content by title in Films on Demand.

Filmmakers Library Online - a small collection of documentaries dealing with a wide range of social, historical issues & cultures

Ethnographic Video Online - an important collection of ethnographic educational and documentary films

​Kanopy - specific course reserves for classes - includes educational shorts and documentaries

BBC Shakespeare Plays - classic productions of all of Shakespeare's plays

The Filmfinder search tool is located on the on the Media & Design Center Homepage. Similar to the advanced catalog search the Filmfinder helps to limit your search to just those Videos and DVDs found in the MDC collection. The Filmfinder not only facilities searches for works by a specific director or performer, title, year of release or by using keywords but you can search by genre and by which country produced the work.

This tool has the unique function of allowing you to look at items that have recently added to the collection. Just click on the Browse New title tab to see a list of those items amassed in the last week, month or three months.

To narrow to video formats follow the falling instructions

1. Using the Advanced Search option in the library Catalog.
2. On the right side of the screen under the Optional Search limits change Location to Media Design Center
3. Under Format Select Videos and DVDs from the dropdown
4. Now can search using Keyword, Title, Author, Subject, Release Year....
5. Streaming materials can also be found the same way and will appear in your results when they meet the search requirements.