Islamic Art & Architecture : Research Centers, Museums, & Libraries

This collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century.

For Islamic objects, see the Five Faiths project as well as the permanent collection.

Includes the Vever Collection of Islamic arts of the book; Major exhibitions such as "Adventures of Hamza" (Hamzanama) and a link to a major art library and archives including such major photographic collections as the Sevruguin.

Includes "Letters in Gold" Ottoman Calligraphy exhibition.

The Islamic collections site includes 50 images, highlights from the collection, one of the largest in the world. Images include extensive documentation.

Includes the virtual exhibition "Flowers of Silk and Gold: Four Centuries of Ottoman Embroidery". A museum rich with Islamic textiles and carpets, one of the finest in the world. Links include Bibliography for Textile Art of the Islamic World.

Includes a major collection of Islamic ceramics and an extensive web-based teaching guide with thumbnails, bibliography, maps, and more.

The collection of Oriental Antiquities includes a broad range of Islamic pottery, paintings, tiles, metalwork, glass, seals, and inscriptions, including objects from North Africa and Spain.

Major Islamic collection and an outstanding site, with numerous well-documented digitized images; click on map of Islamic world to go to objects/images.

Launched by the Museum With No Frontiers (MWNF), the Discover Islamic Art Virtual Museum includes a Permanent Collection, a database, a section dedicated to the Partner Museums as well as a Travel & Book platform.

Islamic art from the 12th to the 18th c. Includes some digitized images with excellent documentation.

A major site of great collection, with searchable, well-documented digitized images, as well as archived exhibition pages.

Includes an archived exhibition on the Fatimids, with a few digitized images of objects from other collections.

Website devoted to the great collections of the Ottoman sultans.

IRCICA undertook activities relating to research, publishing, training and information on a wide range of subjects concerning the Islamic civilization and Muslim cultures. Its subjects of interest include the history of Muslim peoples, the history of science, archaeology, architecture, fine arts and traditional handicrafts, preservation of cultural and architectural heritage, and cultural development issues. The Centre tries to encourage exchanges and cooperation between cultural institutions, universities, scholars, researchers and art circles of the Muslim world and beyond, for the purpose of promoting scholarly and artistic endeavours. It initiates and conducts collaborative studies to project a correct image of Islam and Muslim cultures in world opinion, strenghten affinities between countries within and outside the OIC by way of cultural exchanges, and thus contribute in building harmonious relations among Muslim peoples and with other communities.

The Khalili Research Centre (KRC) is the University of Oxford’s centre for research into the art and material culture of the Islamic societies of the Middle East and of their non-Muslim members and neighbours.

The Center is part of the North Carolina Consortium for Middle East Studies, a collaboration between Duke University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The North Carolina Consortium for Middle East Studies encourages collaboration and cooperation in all aspects of Middle Eastern studies across Duke University, UNC-Chapel Hill, throughout the state of North Carolina, and across disciplines. We study the Middle East as the region extending from the Mediterranean to the Indian Ocean, and focus on interdisciplinary work.

The field of Islamic Studies takes a global, interdisciplinary, and comparative approach to the study of
Islamic religion and Muslim cultures. Utilizing literary, historical, sociological, anthropological, and other critical approaches, students explore a broad array of Islamic religious traditions, both elite and popular. Students also work closely with program faculty to develop their own particular sub-fields in Islamic Studies.

The Duke Islamic Studies Center (DISC) is a vibrant, diverse community of scholars and students engaged in interdisciplinary teaching, interactive learning, and cutting-edge research about Islam and Muslims.