Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Environmental and Energy Law

A research guide containing helpful resources for patrons conducting environmental and energy law research.

Introductory Resources

Introductory resources, such as student study aids, can provide background information regarding a broad area of the law.  They are good for starting research in a new area of the law to get a broad overview of the topic.

Environmental Law Introductory Resources

Principles of Environmental Law KF3775 .J6452 2016 (available electronically via West Study Aids) This book provides readers with basic information regarding environmental statutes and how these statutes are enforced by federal and state governments. Some of the statutes discussed in the book include CAA, RCRA, CERCLA, ESA, NEPA, as well as others. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Environmental Law in a Nutshell 9th ed. KF3775.Z9 F56 2014 (available electronically via West Study Aids) This student study aid contains background information regarding environmental law.  [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

International Environmental Law in a Nutshell 5th ed. K3585.6 .G87 2017 (available electronically via West Study Aids) [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Principles of Natural Resources Law KF5505 .Z45 2014 (available electronically via West Study Aids) This resource addresses a variety of issues regarding natural resources law, such as natural resources markets, regulations, preservation, and NEPA. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Environmental Science Deskbook (available electronically via Westlaw Edge). This deskbook contains plain language explanations of environmental science topics and technical terms.

Energy Law Introductory Resources

Energy Law in a Nutshell 3d ed. KF2120.Z9 T65 2017 (available electronically via West Study Aids) This book provides an overview of US energy law, including chapters on oil, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear power, hydropower, and clean power. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen].

Principles of Natural Resources Law KF5505 .Z45 2014 (available electronically via West Study Aids) This resource addresses a variety of issues regarding natural resources law, such as natural resources markets, regulations, preservation, and NEPA. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen].

Treatises

Treatises are in-depth resources that provide extensive explanation, analysis, and interpretation of an area of the law.  They are usually written by scholars in the field and provide many citations to primary law.

Rodgers Environmental Law 2d ed. KF3775 .R6 1994 (available electronically via Westlaw Edge) This treatise contains extensive information regarding environmental law, providing analysis of statutes, regulations, policies, and cases important to this area of law.

Law of Environmental Protection KF3775 .L392 (available electronically via Westlaw Edge) This treatise provides detailed information regarding the EPA's enforcement of federal environmental protection laws and regulations. This resource is updated three times annually on Westlaw.

NEPA Law and Litigation KF3775 .M372 2017 (available electronically via Westlaw Edge) This treatise provides a detailed breakdown of the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), its legislative history, its enforcement, litigation under the statute, and compliance issues. This resource is updated annually on Westlaw.

Law of Chemical Regulation and Hazardous Waste KF3958 .S74 (available electronically via Westlaw Edge) This treatise contains information regarding chemicals and hazardous waste, for example, how they are regulated under federal laws such as the Toxic Substances Control Act, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, and Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act. This resource is updated three times a year on Westlaw.

Williams and Meyers, Oil and Gas Law KF1849 .W542 (available electronically via Lexis Advance) This treatise contains extensive information regarding oil and gas law.

The Law of Oil and Gas: With Forms (Summers Oil & Gas) KF1849 .S85 2004 (available electronically via Westlaw Edge) This treatise provides analysis of statutes, regulations, and cases regarding oil and gas law.  It discusses covers leases, rents, liens, partnerships, and taxation, as well as containing forms.

The Law of Oil and Gas 3d ed. KF1849 .H44 1991 This treatise contains information regarding oil and gas leases, taxation of oil and gas interests, as well as forms.  There is also a Hornbook that is a revision of this treatise, Oil and gas law and taxation : a revision of Hemingway KF1849 .A753 2017.

Kuntz, Law of Oil and Gas KF1849 .T46 1962 (available electronically via Lexis Advance) This treatise contains information regarding interests in oil and gas, oil and gas leases, regulations on both the state and federal level, as well as sample forms and contracts.

Brown, The Law of Oil and Gas Leases, 2d ed. (available electronically via Lexis Advance) This treatise provides analysis of oil and gas leases, as well as forms and contracts.

Energy Law and Transactions (available electronically via Lexis Advance) This treatise contains information regarding a variety of energy resources.  There are also chapters on energy transactions and business planning, international energy transactions, and energy financing.

Online Practice Centers

Online Practice Centers allow practitioners to stay current on regulations updates, recent environmental and energy cases, and any pending statutory changes, as well as providing access to news and analysis in one central location.

Current Awareness

These current awareness resources provide news and analysis of emerging environmental and energy law issues, such as pending regulatory changes, pending cases, and potential statutory changes.

Environment & Energy Report (Bloomberg BNA): This is a daily publication offering both news and practitioner insights related to environmental and energy law issues.  This new resource contains information that was previously published in Bloomberg BNA's Daily Environment Report, International Environment Reporter, Chemical Regulation Reporter, Energy & Climate Report, Right-to-Know Planning Guide Report, and State Environment Daily.  It allows users to create their own profile and set up email alerts for topics of particular interest to the user. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen][Also available via Bloomberg Law]

Environment Reporter (Bloomberg BNA): This is a daily publication offering more in depth analysis of developments in regulation, legislation and litigation related to environmental law issues. It allows users to create their own profile and to customize the interface so that topics and subjects of greatest interest to a particular user may be seen first. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen][Also available via Bloomberg Law]

Climatewire is an E&E News database that contains information regarding climate policy, scientific research and technology developments, and the impact of state, federal, and international climate policy on business. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

E&E Daily is an E&E News database that focuses on legislation and congressional activity concerning energy and environmental policy. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Greenwire is an E&E News database that contains news articles regarding regulations, legislation, and court cases concerning energy and environmental policy and climate change. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Energywire is an E&E News database that contains news reports regarding energy issues, such as utilities, renewable energy, legislation, as well as many other energy industry related topics. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Greenwire is an E&E News database that contains news articles regarding regulations, legislation, and court cases concerning energy and environmental policy and climate change. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

North Carolina Materials

These are North Carolina specific resources that provide information regarding North Carolina environmental laws.