Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Environmental and Energy Law

A research guide containing helpful resources for patrons conducting environmental and energy law research.

Cases

Caselaw research is important for environmental and energy law.  Parties challenge environmental and energy statutes and regulations.  Cases may touch on conservation, compliance, preservation, as well as other topics.

Below are some databases devoted to environmental and energy caselaw research:

Westlaw Edge Energy & Environment Cases: This database on Westlaw Edge contains federal and state cases regarding environmental protection and conservation.

Lexis Environmental Law Cases: This database on Lexis Advance contains federal and state cases regarding environmental law.  Users can also access federal and state environmental cases from the Lexis Advance Environmental Practice Center.

Lexis Energy & Utilities Law Cases: This database on Lexis Advance contains federal and state cases regarding energy and utilities law.  Users can also access federal and state energy and utilities cases from the Lexis Advance Energy & Utilities Practice Center.

Case Filings

Case filings are documents that are filed in court cases throughout the litigation process.  Examples include motions, briefs, pleadings, etc.  These documents are sometimes available for download from docket sheets made available on various databases.

Bloomberg Law: Bloomberg Law is a great resource for accessing dockets and case filings.  Bloomberg pulls dockets and the underlying documents from PACER for federal courts.  Some state courts are also available.  Users can apply a filter for nature of the suit - environmental matters.

Westlaw Edge Environmental Law Dockets: This database contains dockets for environmental law cases in US District Courts, US Courts of Appeal, U.S. Bankruptcy Courts nationwide and selected State Courts, with coverage starting in 2000.

Lexis Advance Environmental Law Dockets: This database provides access to federal and state dockets related to environmental law.  Coverage varies by court.

Lexis Advance Energy & Utilities Law Dockets: This database provides access to federal and state court dockets related to energy and utilities law.  coverage varies by court.