AMST 439: Makers and Meanings: Indigenous Arts and the Marketplace: Articles

Primary database of scholarly articles for art and art history. Indexes articles from the American Indian Art Magazine.

Spanning four centuries and covering North and Central America, this collection contains manuscripts (treaties, speeches, petitions, diaries, travel journals, ledger books); Artwork; American Indian Newspapers covering the 1960s to 1990s; Rare Printed Books; Photographs; and Maps from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library.

Brings together more than 100,000 pages of autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. These documents offer a perspective into the attitudes of native peoples toward the earliest European settlers and the resultant transformations that took place, first as trade was established and later as displacement forced tribes into unfamiliar territories.

Funded with the generous support of the William M and Mary D Harrison Library Fund, Early Encounters documents the relationships among diverse peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The Indian perspective is recorded in a wide variety of sources, including oral accounts written down by Europeans at the time of contact and afterward, speeches, correspondence, and publications produced by Indians. The collection offers nearly 1,000 prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimile pages.

Provides citations and links to journal articles, reports, and commentaries for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture.

Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.

Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.