(Allied) Health Sciences: Faculty Resources: Proposal Writing/Samples/Templates
This is a guide for Allied Health Sciences faculty, with a focus on resources for new/junior faculty, mid-career faculty, and their mentors. It is also a broad, one-stop-shop for faculty at all levels.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Proposal Writing
Always consult latest guidelines from your specific granting agency for current information.
- Office of Sponsored Research (OSR) > For Researchers > Proposal DevelopmentIncludes
- Concept & Funding
- Proposal Creation
- Proposal Submission
The result of an initiative to improve and streamline the management of externally sponsored research programs at UNC, the Research Playbooks are online resources intended to support researchers and research administrators in managing all stages of the award lifecycle, from proposal to closeout. The first playbook released is the Proposal Playbook. Site includes brief playbook training videos and technical support.
- UNC Writing Center: Grant Proposals (or Give me the money!)Includes some section examples.
- UNC Funding Information Portal: Proposal WritingResources for writing an application or proposal.
- NC TraCS Proposal DevelopmentIncludes such services as grant preparation and review, scientific/editorial review, mock study section, sample grant applications (searchable TraCSTAR database of example successful grant applications for multiple mechanisms and funding agencies submitted by UNC researchers), seminars and training on grant writing and grantsmanship, grant writing links.
- Grant Writers' Seminars & Workshops (GWSW)Organization that offers training on all aspects of writing grants. GWSW works with institutions to offer seminars and workshops on their campus.
- NSF Grants Conferences & Preparing ProposalsInformation about upcoming conferences and presentations. Scroll to the bottom of the page for: How to Prepare an NSF Proposal: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, Spring 2017.
Successful Proposal Examples
Always consult latest guidelines from your specific granting agency for current information.
- NIH Sample Applications & MoreNIH sample applications and summary statements (a variety of R, K & F). Below the list of applications, you’ll also find example forms, sharing plans (data & organisms), letters, emails, and more.
- Successful Grants: RO1 & R21Collected by Emory University School of Medicine
- Sample Cancer Epidemiology Grant ApplicationsThe National Cancer Institute (NCI) frequently receives questions from investigators for examples of successfully funded grant applications. Several investigators and their organizations agreed to let the Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program (EGRP) post excerpts of their grant applications online. The applications in the table below are excellent examples of grantsmanship.
- UNC Funding Information Portal: Successful Proposals Collection (doctoral & postdoc)This collection of successful proposals serves as a reference for UNC-Chapel Hill graduate students and postdoctoral scholars in the process of applying for funding for research or advanced study. It can be accessed with a valid Onyen.
- NC TraCS TraCSTARTraCSTAR (TraCS Template Application Resource) is a searchable database containing examples of successful grant applications for multiple mechanisms and funding agencies.
New NIH Human Subjects & Clinical Trials
Connect with us
