Skip to main content

AMST 102: Myth and History in American Memory

A course page for Tim Marr's 1968 American Memory Project

What is a Primary Source?

  • Primary sources can be documents, artifacts or recordings.
  • There are many examples of primary sources including correspondence that are available to you through the University Libraries, particularly Wilson Library.
  • Many (but certainly not all!) primary sources are unpublished.

Image: Wilson Library Collections, UNC-Chapel Hill.

UNC Catalog Search

Searching the UNC Catalog for Primary Sources

When you search the library catalog, begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant resources. Keyword terms used to find primary sources can include:

- Personal narratives - Diaries
- Correspondence         - Letters
- Interviews                            - Autobiography
- Memoirs - Maps
- Pamphlets - Speeches
- Sources - Archives
- Archival Resources  

 

Examples of subject searches might look like:

‚ÄčCollege students -- Political activity 

Nineteen sixty-eight

Jazz History and Criticism

 

What is in this guide?

 

This guide is created to help you complete your 1968 American Memory Project. You'll find resources for events and people of note from that year. Please feel free to reach out if you need additional support. 

1968-Specific Resources

Web Sources:

Wikipedia-generated list of events in 1968- As a reminder, it's not a good idea to cite Wikipedia as a source, but it can be useful when you are brainstorming topics or looking to generate keywords.

1968: The Year That Changed History, The Guardian. - A collection of images from the Guardian.

A Timeline of 1968, The Smithsonian Magazine. 

Useful Books:

Note: this is not an exhaustive list. You should try searching the UNC catalog for your specific topic to find more materials.

"Late 1960's"- 1234 books that have this phrase somewhere in their description. 

Encyclopedia of the Sixties- This encyclopedia documents the people, places, movements, and culture of that memorable decade for those who lived it. Nearly 500 A-Z entries on the political, religious, artistic, and popular topics of the decade

The Sixties in AmericaThese volumes offer coverage on all aspects of the three major events of the 60s: the social revolution; the Vietnam war and the Civil Rights Movement. They also survey developments in the arts, science, technology, business and the economy, government and politics, sports and gender issues.

For Useful Articles- Use the relevant databases box below:

Relevant Databases

Your Librarian

Sarah Morris's picture
Sarah Morris
Pronouns: She/her/hers
Contact:
123 Davis Library
9199622094

MLA and other

  • Last Updated: Aug 19, 2020 1:11 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/c.php?g=787814