Public Health: Biostatistics
Created by Health Science Librarians
Other Resources at the Library
-
AHRQ Training Modules for the Systematic Reviews Methods GuidePresentations based on the AHRQ Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews, providing training in selecting eligibility criteria, searching the literature, data extraction, quality assessment, and other steps in the creation of a systematic review.
Get help with statistical, mathematical, and GIS software
Statistical
The Odum Institute is a service and research unit of the University of North Carolina. Its staff provides statistical services including workshops, seminars, and software access. Odum is located in Manning Hall.
- Consulting services
- Upcoming workshops
- Help with survey methodology, data archiving and finding grants
Mathematical and Statistical
The UNC Research Computing Group provides support for mathematical and statistical software applications, as well as technical information and assistance for supported research software to the UNC-CH community. The statistical computing web pages provide general information about computing on the statistical server, include documentation and usage instructions, and address commonly asked questions.
GIS & Data Services
The GIS and Data Services unit in Davis Library provides assistance in finding geospatial data and offers research consultations.
If you need assistance, schedule a consultation using the online scheduling app.
Data Management
If you need assistance writing data management plans, understanding agency requirements, and finding data services on campus, see the HSL's Research Data Toolkit Guide.
Core Resources
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
Mathematical Literature Databases
- MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews on the Web)
- Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical science literature
- Access to the journal Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present
- MathSciNet, Mathematical Reviews, and Current Mathematical Publications are all produced by the American Mathematical Society
- Current Index to Statistics - Extended Database
- Citations to publications in statistics, probability and related fields
- CIS is a joint venture of the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics
Data and Health Statistics
Below are some health data & statistics recourses you may find useful. More resources can also be found on the Health Data & Statistics guide.
Health People.com Data2020 Search - Healthy People 2020 includes over 1,200 objectives to monitor and improve the health of all Americans over the decade... Healthy People relies on many diverse data systems including: National censuses of events (like the National Vital Statistics System), nationally representative sample surveys (like the National Health Interview Survey), and other valid and reliable data sources (like the Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute)"
National Center for Health Statistics FastStats- "The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages."
Rural Health Information Hub- "The Rural Health Information Hub, formerly the Rural Assistance Center, is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy to be a national clearinghouse on rural health issues."
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics- "The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics"
Interested in searching in grey literature? Check out our guide about it!
Statistical packages on HSL computers
How to use statistical programs SAS, SPSS and Stata on Health Sciences Library computers:
- Go to http://virtuallab.unc.edu
- Browse Statistical Applications. A shortcut is on all HSL student desktops.
Note: Do not confuse the Virtual Lab http://virtuallab.unc.edu with the Virtual Computing Lab http://vcl.unc.edu (see below). They are different services. If you have questions about using computers at the HSL, visit the HSL front desk or call 919-962-0800.
