Skip to main content

Resources to Sino-African Relation: Books and Articles

Resources to Sino-African Relation

UNC catalog search

Searchable using Chinese as well as a romanized script for Chinese resources. All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Chinese scripts.

  • If your item is not available at UNC, try TRLN (Triangle Research Libraries Network).
    Search TRLN provides a single search interface to the TRLN Libraries' Collections.
  • If it is not within the TRLN libraries, try Worldcat.
    Worldcat is a worldwide catalog of books, articles, visual materials, etc.

Relevant English Databases

Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.

Relevant Chinese Databases

Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.

Books

1. The Great Uhuru Railway: China's showpiece in Africa, by Richard Hall and Hugh Peyman. (HE3460.T35 H35)

2. The Communist challenge to Africa: an analysis of contemporary Soviet, Chinese and Cuban policies (DT38.9.R8 G73)

3. Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana : a bibliography on his works and life , by

Oyeniyi Osundina. ( Z965 .N38 no. 41)

4. Sino-African relations, 1949-1976(Z733 .M9175 no., 59/60)

5. What drives China's growing role in Africa? (Davis Library Reference

International Documents)

6. China and Africa: engagement and compromise. (XP-1440 p.c.17)

7. China's new role in Africa. (DT38.9.C5 T394 2009)

The following two books are written in Chinese:

Access Information

On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC Chapel Hill ITS.

UNC Hospitals Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you select the first resource. Note: UpToDate is available within EPIC.

Off Campus Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you select the first resource. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.

Learn about off-campus access IDs.

Report an off-campus access or hospital access problem.

Journal Articles

  • Ian Taylor, China's New Role in Africa Boulder, CO; Lynne Rienner.
  • Ian Taylor ,‘Chinese Involvement in Africa’s Oil Industries’, Oil, Gas and Energy Law Intelligence, vol. 6, no. 1, 2008, pp. 1-13.
  • Shaun Breslin and Ian Taylor ‘Explaining the Rise of “Human Rights” in Analyses of Sino-African Relations’, Review of African Political Economy, no. 115, 2008, pp. 59-71.
  • Ian Taylor ‘China’s Expansion into Africa’ in Africa South of the Sahara, 2008 London: Routledge, 2008, pp. 35-40.
  • Ian Taylor ‘Sino-African Relations and the Problem of Human Rights’, African Affairs, 107, 2008, pp. 63-87.
  • Ian Taylor ‘China’s Relations with Nigeria’, Round Table: The Commonwealth Journal of International Affairs , vol. 96, issue 392, 2007, pp. 631-645. '
  • Ian Taylor ‘Governance in Africa and Sino-African Relations: Contradictions or Confluence?’, Politics, vol. 27, no. 3, 2007, pp. 139–146.
  • Ian Taylor ‘Sino-African Relations in the Twenty-First Century: Time for Dialogue’, Chinese Cross Currents, vol. 4, no. 2, 2007, pp. 8-21.
  • Ian Taylor ‘China and Africa: Towards the Development of a Literature’, Afrika Spectrum, vol. 42, no. 2, 2007, pp. 379-388.
  • Ian Taylor China and Africa: Engagement and Compromise London Routledge, 2006.
  • Ian Taylor ‘China’s Oil Diplomacy in Africa’, International Affairs, vol. 82, no. 5, September 2006, pp. 937-960.
  • Ian Taylor ‘The “All-weather Friend? Sino-African Interaction in the Twenty-first Century’ in Ian Taylor and Paul Williams (eds.) Africa in International Politics: External Involvement on the Continent London: Routledge 2004, pp. 83-101.
  • Ian Taylor ‘Taiwan’s Foreign Policy and Africa: The Limitations of Dollar Diplomacy’, Journal of Contemporary China, vol. 11, no. 30, February 2002, pp. 125-140.
  • Ian Taylor ‘China’s Relations with Africa in the Post-Maoist Era, 1978-1999’, in Frank Columbus (ed.) Current Politics and Economics of Africa, Volume I Huntingdon, New York: Nova Science, 2001, pp. 83-106.
  • Scarlett Cornelissen and Ian Taylor ‘The Political Economy of Chinese and Japanese Linkages with Africa: A Comparative Perspective’, Pacific Review, vol. 13, no. 4, 2000, pp. 615-633.
  • Ian Taylor ‘The Ambiguous Commitment: The People’s Republic of China and the Anti-Apartheid Struggle in South Africa ’, Journal of Contemporary African Studies, vol. 18, no. 1, January 2000, pp. 91-106.
  • Ian Taylor ‘China’s Foreign Policy Towards Africa in the 1990s’, Journal of Modern African Studies, vol. 36, no. 3, September 1998, pp. 443-460.
  • Ian Taylor ‘Africa’s Place in the Diplomatic Competition Between Beijing and Taipei’, Issues and Studies: Journal of Chinese Studies and International Affairs, vol. 34, no. 3, March 1998, pp. 126-143.
  • Ian Taylor China’s Foreign Policy Towards Southern Africa in the “Socialist Modernisation” Period East Asia Project Working Paper 18, Dept. of International Relations, University of the Witwatersrand, December 1997, 21 pp.

Other Free E-Journals

East Asian Gateway Services

In the U.S., you can use Gateway Services, a free delivery service for full-text Chinese language academic publications held by libraries in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Japan. Use the following indexes for articles:

  • Last Updated: Apr 12, 2021 10:51 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/sino_africa