HIST 398-003: Florence, Cradle of the Renaissance: Articles and Books
Finding Scholarly Articles
First, you want to know the different types of periodical articles.
The four databases below are particularly relevant to this course.
-
Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceIter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources. (Vendor Website)
-
International Medieval Bibliography
The International Medieval Bibliography covers the European Middle Ages (c 450-1500) and indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc.
Note: Please click on the 'Enter Databases' link. Then select 'International Medieval Bibliography - Online'. -
Editoria Italiana Online--Italian Studies
319 monographs, 55 serials, and 92 conference proceedings in the discipline of Italian Studies with a focus on literature and language, history, social sciences, religion, and arts. Publications from some of Italy's standard and scholarly publishers feature in this collection, including Bulzoni, Cadmo, Longo, Olschki, and many others.
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Library of Congress Subject Headings within the full record tab and follow those links to find related books.
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.
- Keyword: Ciompi revolt
- Associated Subject Heading: "Ciompi, Revolt of the, 1378."
- Associated Subject Heading: "Florence (Italy) -- History -- to 1421"
- Keyword: "Catherine de Medici" France court
- Associated Subject Heading: "Catherine de Médicis, Queen, consort of Henry II, King of France, 1519-1589."
- Associated Subject Heading: "France -- Civilization --1328-1600"
- Keyword: "Black Death" social impact
- Associated Subject Heading: "Plague -- Social aspects."
New Research
You can set up new search alerts in many journal databases to receive updated news of research on your topic. Here's a training video to do this for EBSCO databases, such as Historical Abstracts.
You can also set up an RSS feed from our online catalog for new books on your topic. See the RSS icon to the left.
Tracking Scholarship
-
H-Net ReviewsA good source for scholarly reviews.
Google Scholar UNC
