Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Federal Banking Law

This guide contains information and resources about federal banking law.

Major Resources

Cheetah (Wolters Kluwer) - Contains electronic versions of the Federal Banking Law Reporter and other secondary sources that reprint the U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and other important Administrative Releases. Additional features include news and current awareness tools, interactive forms and federal banking QuickCharts.  This is Wolters Kluwer's new platform to replace CCH IntelliConnect.  [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Key Secondary Resources

Federal Banking Law Reporter: KF971.5.F42 (available electronically through CCH Intelliconnect and Westlaw Edge) This looseleaf series offers comprehensive coverage on federal statutory and regulatory controls on banking. It brings together primary sources like statutes, regulations, cases, guidance, and other documents and includes editorial commentary. Its Regulatory Developments volume is an excellent source for current awareness and tracking updates and changes to banking law.

Current Awareness

Banking Daily (Bloomberg BNA): This publication provides daily coverage of new developments in banking regulation, legislation, and litigation. It also includes coverage of other news and developments in economics and other topics. Users may also subscribe to have the publication emailed to them daily. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen] [Also available via Bloomberg Law]

Banking Report (Bloomberg BNA): This is a weekly publication offering more in depth analysis of developments in regulation, legislation and litigation. It allows users to create their own profile and have the publication emailed weekly as well as to customize the interface so that topics and subjects of greatest interest to a particular user may be seen first. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen][Also available via Bloomberg Law]

The Banker's Letter of the Law: This newsletter provides expert commentary on the impact of recent state and federal banking law court decisions. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen] [Also available via Lexis Advance]

Treatises

Banking Law & Regulation KF974 .M362 2nd (available electronically via Westlaw Edge). Provides analysis of major banking laws and regulations, such as the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, the Federal Deposit Insurance Reform Act and the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.  

The Law of Bank Deposits, Collections and Credit Cards KF974 .C56, 2nd (available electronically via HeinOnline and Lexis+). Offers comprehensive discussion of the statutes, regulations and case law governing bank deposits and collections.  Also includes drafting tips and compliance guidelines. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]