Federal Banking Law

Federal Register: Includes notices, presidential documents, and proposed and final regulations. Before a rule is published in the CFR, it is first released in the Federal Register. The Federal Register explanation of a rule is more detailed and complete. The Federal Register is available from a variety of sources, both in print and online, including:

• Federal Register.gov - (1994 - present); The new version of the Federal Register is released at this website daily. This website also allows you to download Federal Register data in XML format.
• GovInfo - (1980 - present); The Federal Register is available here as an official PDF, certified by the Superintendent of Documents. It can be both searched and browsed.
• HeinOnline - (1936 - present); Hein Online preserves historical versions of the FR in PDF format. It also maintains within its database the finding tables published with the FR, like the lists of CFR sections affected by the FR. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Code of Federal Regulations: Final rules and regulations are arranged topically by subject in the Code of Federal Regulations, which consists of 50 titles. Regulations governing banks and banking can be found in Title 12 of the CFR. The CFR is updated annually on a cyclical basis. Titles 1-16 are updated in the Official CFR as of January 1 of each year. The CFR is available from a variety of sources, both in print and online, including:

• GovInfo - (1996-present); GovInfo allows you to view prior years' versions of the regulations. This is important, as rules for an area of like banking can change substantively from year to year. The CFR is available here as an official PDF, certified by the Superintendent of Documents. The CFR can be both searched and browsed.
• E-CFR : The most current, unofficial version of the CFR. It is updated based on the publication of the Federal Register and is usually updated within 2 days of a final rule being published in the Federal Register.
• HeinOnline - (1938 - present); Complete CFR coverage from the first edition of the CFR to the present. Also offers a CFR citation locator. [Off-campus access requires login with UNC onyen]

Federal Reserve: The central bank of the United States that controls monetary policy. Their website provides excellent Economic Research and Data pages that allow users to interact with and download Federal Reserve Board data. The Federal Reserve's Supervision and Regulation page contains a series of useful databases, including:

• Supervision and Regulation Letters: Searchable database offers letters from 1990 - present; letters address policy and procedural matters related to the Federal Reserve System's supervisory responsibilities.
• Consumer Affairs Letters: Database offers letters from 1997 - present; letters address significant policy and procedural matters related to the Federal Reserve System's consumer compliance supervisory responsibilities.
• Enforcement Actions: Database offers enforcement action information from 1989 - present.  The Press Releases page has enforcement action information from 2006 - present.

Department of the Treasury: Includes current news, links to all sub-agencies of the US treasury and statistical information. The website also contains a Financial Stability page that offers information and data related to the Troubled Assets Relief Program (TARP).

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation: The FDIC is an independent agency that insures bank deposits. Their website provides consumer protection resources, bank closing information, bank data and statistics, industry news and more.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency:  The OCC is an independent bureau of the Treasury Department that regulates and supervises national banks and federal savings associations.   Visitors to the OCC website will find news and issuances, publications, tools and forms and many other banking resources.