A collection of oral histories from the Folklore Project of the Federal Writers' Project for the U.S. Works Progress (later Work Projects) Administration (WPA) from 1936-1940. Several Southern states are well-represented.The Federal Writers provided government supported work writers during the Great Depression. In addition to the oral histories, writers compiled state guidebooks that provided glimpses of regional and local life. Three authors on the reading list for Folklore 560, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, worked on the Writers Project.

Information about understanding documentary photography. Includes discussion of the work of Walker Evans.

This guide from the English Department at the University of Mississippi, features biographies, bibliographies, and links to additional resources about writers in, from, or otherwise associated with the state of Mississippi. (1/7/2010: Link is broken on U. Mississippi web site, but hopefully it will be fixed soon).

Listen to Faulkner's discussions with audiences at the University of Virginia in 1957 and 1958 while he was a Writer-in-Residence. The archive also contains essays, photos, and news articles about Faulkner.

Manuscripts Department: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill LibraryContains primary sources related to the work of Dr. Ferris, including work on various aspects of folklore as well as correspondence, publications, and other materials that relate to several authors covered in this class.

Provides links to eight films related to Southern folklife by Dr. Ferris

Part of the Big read video project of the National Endowment for the Arts

From the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Edith Garland Dupré Library

Part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) of the New Deal. Contains a document called Proposed Recording Expedition into the Floridas/, written by Zora Neale Hurston and 19 folk songs performed by Hurston. To find the songs, choose the Browse list of Performers link and look for Hurston

The Collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920.

A collection of transcribed oral history narratives collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) of the New Deal.

The Federal Writers provided government supported work writers during the Great Depression. In addition to the oral histories, writers compiled state guidebooks that provided glimpses of regional and local life.

Seven hours of recorded interviews with former slaves, recorded between 1932 and 1975.

An online archive of materials related to the works of Mark Twain. Produced by the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia, using resources from the Barrett Library of American Literature in the Special Collections Library at the University of Virginia.

Offers a virtual tour of Welty's home and garden, a complete bibliography of her work, and a timeline of her life.

Take a virtual tour of Eudora Welty's house and garden.

A 17-minute interview with Eudora Welty's niece. Includes a slide show with photos of Welty's home and a transcript of the interview.

This guide from the English Department at the University of Mississippi, features biographies, bibliographies, and links to additional resources about writers in, from, or otherwise associated with the state of Mississippi. (1/7/2010: Link is broken on U. Mississippi web site, but hopefully it will be fixed soon).

49 video clips of interviews with B.B. King and Eudora Welty.

This guide from the English Department at the University of Mississippi, features biographies, bibliographies, and links to additional resources about writers in, from, or otherwise associated with the state of Mississippi.

Links from a 2011 exhibition at the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas

This guide from the English Department at the University of Mississippi, features biographies, bibliographies, and links to additional resources about writers in, from, or otherwise associated with the state of Mississippi. (1/7/2010: Link is broken on U. Mississippi web site, but hopefully it will be fixed soon).

A collection of oral histories from the Folklore Project of the Federal Writers' Project for the U.S. Works Progress (later Work Projects) Administration (WPA) from 1936-1940. Several Southern states are well-represented.The Federal Writers Project provided government supported work for writers during the Great Depression. In addition to the oral histories, writers compiled state guidebooks that provided glimpses of regional and local life. Three authors on the reading list for Folklore 560, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, worked on the Writers Project.