Skip to main content

AMST 488: No Place Like Home: Material Culture of the American South

Appalachia

Becker, Jane S. Selling Tradition: Appalachia and the Construction of an American Folk, 1930-1940. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1998.

Eaton, Allen H. Handicrafts of the Southern Highlands. New York: Dover Publications. 1937.

Kephart, Horace. Our Southern Highlanders: A Narrative of Adventure in the Southern Appalachians
And a Study of Life Among the Mountaineers
.
1913. (Republished several times.)

Whisnant, Anne. Super-Scenic Motorway: A Blue Ridge Parkway History. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 2006.

Whisnant, David. All That is Native and Fine: The Politics of Culture in an American Region. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1983.

Archaeology

A Comparative Archaelogical Study of Colonial Chesapeake Culture

Duncan, Barbara R. and Brett H. Riggs. Cherokee Heritage Trails Guidebook. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2003.

North Carolina Museum of History

North Carolina Office of State Archaeology

Pogue, Dennis J. "Standard of Living in the Seventeenth-Century Chesapeake: An Archaeological Perspective." The American Home: Material Culture, Domestic Space, and Family Life. Ed. Eleanor M. Thompson. Winterthur, DE: Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, Hanover, NH: Distributed by University Press of New England, 1998.

Riggs, Brett H. "The Christie Cabin Site: Historical and Archaeological Evidence of the Life and Times of a Cherokee Mitis Household (1835-1838)." May We All Remember Well Ed. Robert S. Brunk. Asheville, NC: Robert S. Brunk Auction Services, Inc., 1997. 228-248. (also e-reserves)

Steponaitis, Vin. "Native American Cultures of the Precolonial South."The Natchez District in the Old, Old South. Ed. Vincas P. Steponaitis. Chapel Hill, NC: Academic Affairs Library: Center for the Study of the American South, 1998. 1-22. (also e-reserves)

Steponaitis, Vincas P. and Vernon J. Knight, Jr. "Moundville Art in Social and Historical Context." Hero, Hawk, and Open Hand. Eds. Richard Townsend and Robert Sharp. Chicago: Art Institute of Chicago, 2004. 166-181.(also e-reserves)

Ward, H. Trawick and R. P. Stephen Davis, Jr. Time Before History: The Archaeology of North Carolina. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1999.(also e-reserves)

Architecture

Built Heritage of North Carolina: Historic Architecture in the Old North State
Images of North Carolina architecture from the NCSU Libraries Special Collections Center

Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the American South
Noted architectural photographer Frances Benjamin Johnston created a systematic record of early American buildings and gardens called the Carnegie Survey of the Architecture of the South (CSAS). This collection, created primarily in the 1930s, provides more than 7,100 images showing an estimated 1,700 structures and sites in rural and urban areas of Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, and Louisiana, and to a lesser extent Florida, Mississippi, and West Virginia. Johnston’s interest in both vernacular and high style structures resulted in vivid portrayals of the exteriors and interiors of houses, mills, and churches as well as mansions, plantations, and outbuildings.

North Carolina Architects & Builders: A Biographical Dictionary

Art

Gruber, J. Richard. William Christenberry: Art and Family. New Orleans, LA: Ogden Museum of Art, University of New Orleans, 2000.

Gruber, J. Richard and David Houston. The Art of the South, 1890-2003: The Ogden Museum of Southern Art. London: Scala Publishers ; New Orlean, La.: Ogden Museum of Art, University of New Orleans, 2004.

Lange, Susanne. William Christenberry. 2001. [Not held at UNC Libraries. You may request this book through Interlibrary Loan.

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Timeline of Art History

Ceramics

Ben Owen Pottery

Glassie, Henry. The Potter's Art. Philadephia, PA: Material Culture, 1999.

Jugtown Pottery

Mack, Charles R. Talking with the Turners: Conversations with Southern Folk Potters. Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, 2006.

Hewitt, Mark and Nancy Sweezy. The Potter's Eye: Art and Tradition in North Carolina Pottery. Chapel HIll: UNC Press, 2005.

Mark Hewitt Pottery

Millard, Charles. Mark Hewitt : Potter. Raleigh, NC: Visual Arts Center, North Carolina State University, 1997.

North Carolina Pottery Center

Perry, Barbara Stone, ed. North Carolina Pottery: The Collection of the Mint Museums. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 2004.

Poesch, Jessie. Newcomb Pottery: An Enterprise for Southern Women, 1895-1940. Exton, PA : Schiffer Pub.,1984.

Zug, III, Charles G. Turners and Burners: The Folk Potters of North Carolina. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1986.

Colonial South

Greene, Jack P. and J. R. Pole. Colonial British America: Essays in the New History of the Early Modern Era. Baltimore, MD: John Hopkins University Press, 1984.

Isaac, Rhys. The Transformation of Virginia, 1740-1790. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1982.

Tate, Thad W. and David L. Ammerman, eds. The Chesapeake in the Seventeenth Century: Essays on Anglo-American Society and Politics. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1979.

Craft Traditions

Arnow, Jan. By Southern Hands: A Celebration of Craft Traditions in the South. Birmingham, AL: Oxmoor House,1987.

Craft Revival: Shaping Western Carolina Past and Present

Fields, Jay and Brad Campbell. The Craft Heritage Trails of Western North Carolina. Asheville, NC: Handmade in America, 1998.

Rosengarten, Dale. Row upon row: Sea grass baskets of the South Carolina lowcountry. Columbia, S.C. : McKissick Museum, University of South Carolina, 1987, c1986.

Vlach, John M. Charleston Blacksmith: The Work of Philip Simmons. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1981.

Decorative Arts

Albert, Gary J. Southern perspective: A sampling from the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts. Winston-Salem, N.C.: Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts, c2005.

Bivins, John and Forsyth Alexander. The Regional Arts of the Early South. Winston-Salem, NC: The Museum, 1991.

"Index of American Design." National Gallery of Art.

McInnis, Maurie D. The Politics of Taste in Antebellum Charleston. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC Press, 2005.

Wisconsin Digital Library for Decorative Arts and Material Culture

Folk Art

DeCarlo, Tessa. "The innocent Negro: William Edmondson and the Guilty Politics of Folk/Outsider Art." Oxford American. 39 (May-June 2001), 42-53.

Ferris, William R. Local Color: A Sense of Place in Folk Art. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1982.

Made by Hand: Mississippi Folk Art. Jackson, MS: Mississippi Dept. of Archives and History, 1980.

Ferris, William. "Folk Art and the American South." Passionate Visions of the American South: Self-Taught Artists from 1940 to the Present. New Orleans, LA: New Orleans Museum of Art, 1993.

Folk Art, a quarterly magazine of the Museum of Folk Art

Folk Art Messenger, published quarterly by the Folk Art Society of America

Raw Vision, an international journal of intuitive and visionary art

Yelen, Alice Rae. Passionate visions of the American South: Self-taught artists from 1940 to the present. New Orleans, LA: New Orleans Museum of Art; Jackson, MS: Distributed by University Press of Mississippi, 1993.

Young, Stephen Flinn and D.C. Young. Earl's Art Shop: Building Art with Earl Simmons. University of Mississippi Press, 1995.

Clyde Jones: Critter Artist.

Crotty, David. "Jimmie Lee Sudduth."

Crotty, David. "Mose Tolliver."

Galerie St. Etienne. "Self-Taught Art and Outsider Art."

Interesting Ideas

North Carolina Arts and Crafts

"Off-the-Map Backyard Travelogue: Visit 10 Backyard Paradises." See Paradise Garden, Papaquan, and Windmill Park.

Patterson, Tom. "Complex Gifts."

Swislow, Bill. "Jim Sudduth."

See an additional list of resources at Ginger Young Gallery's website.

Folklore and Folklife

Abrahams, Roger. Singing the Master: The Emergence of African American Culture in the Plantation South. New York, NY: Pantheon Books, 1992.

Allen, Barbara, ed. Sense of Place: American Regional Cultures. Lexington, KY University Press of Kentucky, 1990.

American Folklife Center

Bauman, Richard, ed. Folklore, Cultural Performance, and Popular Entertainments: A Communications-Centered Handbook. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1992.

Bronner, Simon J. American Folklore Studies: An Intellectual History. Lawrence, KS: University Press of Kansas, 1986.

Brunvand, Jan Harold. The Study of American Folklore: An Introduction. New York, NY: Norton, 1978.

Dorson, Richard, ed. Folklore and Folklife. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1976.

Franco, Barbara and Jane Beck, eds. Folk Roots, New Roots: Folklore in America. Lexington, MA: Museum of Our National Heritage, 1988.

Glassie, Henry. Passing the Time in Ballymenone: Culture and History of an Ulster Community. Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1982.

Jordan, Rosan A. and Susan J. Kalcik, eds. Women's Folklore, Women's Culture. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1985.

Lasner, Susan S. "Burning Dinners: Feminist Subversions of Domesticity." Feminist Messages: Coding in Women's Folk Culture. Ed. Joan Newlon Radner. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1993.

Louisiana Folklife Center

North Carolina "Local Legacies," from the Library of Congress

Oring,Elliot, ed. Folk Groups and Folk Genres: A Reader. Logan, UT: Utah State University Press, 1986.

Paredes, Americo and Richard Bauman, Eds. "Toward New Perspectives in Folklore." Journal of American Folklore. Vol. 84. No. 333 (January-March 1971).

Radner, Joan N. Feminist Messages: Coding in Women's Folk Culture. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1993.

Reinharz, Shulamit. Feminist Methods in Social Research. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.

Santino, Jack. New Old-Fashioned Ways: Holidays and Popular Culture. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1997.

Southern Folklife Collection

Stern, Stephen and John Allan Cicala. Creative Ethnicity: Symbols and Strategies of Contemporary Ethnic Life. Logan, UT: Utah State University Press, 1991.

Food and Foodways

Abusch-Magder, Ruth. "Cookbooks." Eds. Paula Hyman and Deborah Dash Moore, Jewish Women in America: A Historical Encyclopedia. New York: Routledge, 1997.

Belasco, Warren. "Why Food Matters." Culture and Agriculture, vol. 21, no. (spring, 1999) 27-34.

Bowers, Ann, ed. Recipes for Reading: Community Cookbooks, Stories, Histories. Amherst: The University of Massachusetts Press, 1997.

  • Bowers, Ann, "Bound Together: Recipes, Lives, Stories, and Readings."
  • Bowers, Ann, "Cooking Up Stories: Narrative Elements in Community Cookbooks."
  • Bishop, Marion, "Speaking Sisters: Relief Society Cookbooks and Mormon Culture."
  • McDougall, Elizabeth J. "Voices, Stories, and Recipes in Selected Canadian Community Cookbooks."
  • Shigley, Sally Bishop. "Empathy, Energy, and Eating: Politics and Power in The Black Family Dinner Quilt Cookbook."
  • Ross, Alice, "Ella Smith’s Unfinished Community Cookbook: A Social History of Women and Work in Smithtown, New York, 1884-1922."
  • Longone, Janice Bluestein. "Tried Receipts": An Overview of America's Charitable Cookbooks."
  • Kirshenblatt-Gimblett, Barbara, "The Moral Sublime: The Temple Emanuel Fair and Its Cookbook, Denver, 1888."
  • Romines, Ann, "Growing Up with the Methodist Cookbooks."
  • Rice, Nelljean M. "A Tale of Three Cakes: On the Air and in the Books."

Camp, Charles. "Folk Architecture, Folk Crafts, Cookery," American Foodways: What, When, Why and How We Eat in America. Little Rock: August House, 1989.

Carson, Barbara C. Ambitious Appetites: Dining, Behavior, and Patterns of Consumption in Federal Washington. Washington: American Institute of Architects Press, 1990.

Clarke, Alison J. "Tupperware: Product as Social Relation," in American Material Culture: The Shape of the Field, Ann Smart Martin and J. Ritchie Garrision, Eds. Winterthur: Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, distributed by University of Tennessee Press, 1997.

DuSablon, Mary Anna. America’s Collectible Cookbooks: The History, the Politics, the Recipes. Athens, OH: Ohio University Press, 1994. [Not held at UNC-Chapel Hill. You may request this book through Interlibrary Loan.]

Edge, John T. and Ellen Rolfes, eds. Gracious Plenty: Recipes and Reminiscences in the American South. 1999. [Not held by UNC Libraries. You may request this book by Interlibrary Loan.]

Egerton, John. Southern Food: At Home, On the Road, In History. New York, NY: Knopf, 1989.

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project

Food and Culture Bibliography

Food Timeline

Grover, Kathryn, ed. Dining in America, 1850-1900. Amherst: The University of Massachusetts Press, 1987.

  • Williams, Susan R., "Introduction."
  • Miller, David W. "Technology and the Ideal: Production Quality and Kitchen
  • Reform in Nineteenth Century America."
  • Fordyce, Eleanor, T. "Cookbooks of the 1800s."

Gutierrez, C. Paige. Cajun Foodways. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1992.

Hidden Kitchens: NPR stories

Hillard, Sam Bowers. Hog meat and hoecake: food supply in the Old South. Carbondale, IL: Southern Illinois University Press, 1972.

Humphreys, Lin T. and Theodore C., eds. We Gather Together: Food and Festival in American Life. Ann Arbor, MI : UMI Research Press,1988.

Janice Bluestein Longone Culinary Archive

Julia Child’s Kitchen at the Smithsonian

"Just what is Southern Food?," from CNN

Key Ingredients:  American Food History Exhibit

Leonardi, Susan J. "Recipes for Reading: Summer Pasta, Lobster a la Riseholme, and Key Lime Pie," PMLA, vol. 104, no. 3 (May 1989) 340-347.

Levenstein, Harvey. Revolution at the Table: The Transformation of the American Diet. New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.

Mintz, Sidney W. Sweetness and Power: The Place of Sugar in Modern History. New York: Penguin Books, 1985.

Mintz, Sidney. Tasting Food, Tasting Freedom: Excursion into Eating, Culture, and the Past. Boston, MA: Beacon Press, 1996.

The Mississippi Delta Hot Tamale Trail: A Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Project

Mussell, Kay and Linda Keller Brown. Ethnic and Regional Foodways in the United States: The Performance of Group Identity. Knoxville, TN: University of Tennessee Press, 1984.

Shapiro, Laura. Perfection Salad: Women and Cooking at the Turn of the Century. New York: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1986.

Shortridge, Barbara G. and James T. Shortridge, eds. The Taste of American Place. Lanham, MD: Rowe and Littlefield, 1998.

Slow Food Triangle

The Southern BBQ Trail: A Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Project

The Southern Boudin Trail: A Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Project

The Southern Gumbo Trail: A Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Project

Southern Foodways Alliance

Tartan, Beth. "Cookbooks." Eds. Charles Reagan Wilson and William R. Ferris. Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Chapel Hill, North Carolina: The University of North Carolina Press, 1989.

Taylor, Joel Gray. Eating, Drinking, and Visiting in the South: An Informal History. Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana State University Press, 1982.

Theophano, Janet S. "It’s Really Tomato Sauce, But We Call It Gravy:" A Study of Food and Women’s Work among Italian American Families. Diss. University of Pennsylvania, 1982. [Access this item via the Dissertations and Theses database.]

Theophano, Janet S. "Household Words: Women Write from and for the Kitchen." Exhibition, Aresty Collection of Rare Books on the Culinary Arts, University of Pennsylvania, Special Collections, April 1996.

UNC Food Studies: Food Cultures Interdisciplinary Cluster Curricula, UNC Office of Undergraduate Studies

Furniture

Chipstone Foundation

Hurst, Ronald L. Southern furniture, 1680-1830: the Colonial Williamsburg collection. Williamsburg, Va.: Colonial Williamsburg Foundation in association with Harry N. Abrams, 1997.

Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts

Neat Pieces: The Plain-Style Furniture of Nineteenth-Century Georgia. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1983.

Prown, Jonathan. "The Furniture of Thomas Day: A Reevaluation." The Winterthur Portfolio, Vol. 33, No. 4. (Winter 1998) 215 - 229. (e-reserves)

Southern Furniture at Colonial Williamsburg

Thomas Day Education Project

Ulrich, Laurel Thatcher. "Furniture as Social History: Gender, Property, and Memory in the Decorative Arts." American Furniture. Milwaukee, Wisconsin: Chipstone Foundations, 1995. [article]

Global South

South Writ Large, a quarterly magazine supported by UNC’s Center for Global Initiatives, Carolina Seminars, and Center for the Study of the American South. See"Southern Ways Catching on Internationally" for more information.

History: African American

Black Americans in North Carolina and the South. Ed. Jeffrey J. Crow and Flora J. Hatley. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC Press, 1984.

Hine, Darlene, Wilma King, and Linda Reed, Eds. "We Specialize in the Wholly Impossible": A Reader in Black Women's History. Brooklyn: Carlson Publishing, Inc., 1995.

Hine, Darlene Clark and Kathleen Thompson. A Shining Thread of Hope: The History of Black Women in America. New York: Broadway Books, 1998.

Jones, Jacqueline. Labor of Love, Labor of Sorrow: Black Women, Work and the Family, From Slavery to the Present. New York: Vintage Books, 1985.

Sterling, Dorothy, Ed. We Are Your Sisters: Black Women in the Nineteenth Century. New York: Norton, 1984/1997.

White, Deborah Gray. Ar'n't I a Woman? Female Slaves in the Plantation South. New York: W.W. Norton and Company, 1985.

Woodward, C. Vann. The future of the past. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1989. 
Discussion of the history of racial relations in the South.

History: Native American

Duncan, Barbara R. and Brett H. Riggs. Cherokee heritage trails guidebook. Chapel Hill : Published in association with Museum of the Cherokee Indian by University of North Carolina Press, 2003.

Hudson, Charles M. The Juan Pardo Expeditions: Exploration of the Carolinas and Tennessee, 1566-1568. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1990.

Pluckhahn, Thomas J., and Robbie Ethridge, eds. Light on the Path: The Anthropology and History of the Southeastern Indians.Tuscaloosa, AL: University of Alabama Press, 2006.

Riggs, Brett H. "The Christie Cabin Site: Historical and Archaeological Evidence of the Life and Times of a Cherokee Mitis Household (1835-1838)." May We All Remember Well. Ed. Robert S. Brunk. Asheville, NC: Robert S. Brunk Auction Services, Inc., 1997.

Wright, J. Leitch, Jr. The Only Land They Knew: American Indians in the Old South. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press, 1999.

History: Southern

Adams, Katerhine J. and Lewis J. Gould. Inside the Natchez Trace Collection: New Sources for Southern History. Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana State University Press, 1999.

Ayres, Edward L. The Promise of the New South: Life after Reconstruction. New York : Oxford University Press, 1992.

Ayres, Edward L. Southern Crossing: A History of the American South, 1870-1960 . New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.

Berlin, Ira. Many Thousands Gone: The First Two Centuries of Slavery in North America. Cambridge : Harvard University Press, 1998.

Biles, Roger. Memphis in the Great Depression. Knoxville : The University of Tennessee Press, 1986.

Billington, Monroe Lee. The American South: A Brief History. New York: Scribner, 1971.

Brownell, Blaine A., and David R. Goldfield, Eds. The City in Southern History. Lexington : University Press of Kentucky , 1977.

Brundage, W. Fitzhugh, ed. Where These Memories Grow: History, Memory, and Southern Identity. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2000.

The Carolina Story: A Virtual Museum of University History

Cash W. J. The Mind of the South. New York : Vintage Books, 1941.

Chafe, William H. The Unfinished Journey: America Since World War II. New York : Oxford University Press, 1999.

Chappell, Edward A. "Housing a Nation: The Transformation of Living Standards in Early America." Of Consuming Interest: The Style of Life in the Eighteenth Century. Ed. Cary Carson. Charlottesville : The University Press of Virginia , 1994. 167-232.

Clark, Thomas D. Pills, Petticoats, and Plows: The Southern Country Store. University of Oklahoma Press, 1964/1991.

Clinton, Catherine.Tara Revisited: Women, War, and the Plantation Legend. New York : Abbeville Press, 1995. New York : Abbeville Press, 1995.

Clinton, Catherine and Nina Silber, eds. Divided Houses: Gender and the Civil War. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.

Clunies, Sandra MacLean and Bruce Roberts. Pirates of the Southern Coast : Including the Infamous Blackbeard, Stede Bonnet, "Black Sam" Bellamy, "Calico Jack" Rackham, Charles Vane, Mary Read, Anne Bonny. Morehead City, NC: Lighthouse Publications, 2002.

Cobb, James C. The Most Southern Place on Earth: The Mississippi Delta and the Roots of Regional Identity. New York: The Oxford University Press, 1992.

Cooper, William J., Jr. and Thomas E. Terrill. The American South: A History. New York: McGraw-Hill Companies, 1996.

Daniels, Pete. Standing at the Crossroads: Southern Life in the Twentieth Century. Baltimore: The John Hopkins University Press, 1986, 1996.

Daniels, Pete. Lost Revolutions: The South in the 1950s. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina, 2000.

Degler, Carl N. Place Over Time: The Continuity of Southern Distinctiveness. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1997.

Dollard, John. Caste and Class in a Southern Town. New York: Routledge, 1937.

Documenting the American South

Duke University's Southern History and Culture Collection

Dunbar, Tony. Delta Time. New York: Pantheon, 1991.

Foner, Eric. "Selective Memory." Review of Race and Reunion: The Civil War in American Memory, David W. Blight. New York Times Book Review. 4 March 2001: 28.

Fraser, Walter J., Jr. and Winfred B. Moore, Jr., eds. From the Old South to the New: Essays on a Transitional South.

Goldfield, David. "The Pinch." In Exploring America’s Communities: In Quest of Common Ground. American Association of Community Colleges. Washington, DC: Community College Press, 1997.

Green 'n' Growing: The History of Home Demonstration and 4-H Youth Development in North Carolina, an exhibit by the NCSU Libraries

Hale, Grace Elizabeth. Making Whiteness: The Culture of Segregation in the South, 1890-1940. New York: Pantheon Books, 1998.

Hall, Jacquelyn Dowd, James Leloudis, Robert Korstad, Mary Murphy, Lu Ann Jones, and Christopher B. Daly. "Cradle to Grave." Like a Family: The Making of a Southern Cotton Mill World. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC Press, 1987. 114-180.

Hall, Jacquelyn Dowd, James Leloudis, Robert Korstad, Mary Murphy, Lu Ann Jones, and Christopher B. Daly. "Everything We Had." Like a Family: The Making of a Southern Cotton Mill World. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC Press, 1987. 3-43.

Harris, William J. The Making of the American South: A Short History, 1500-1877. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2006.

Hobson, Fred. "Mencken's South." Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Eds. Charles R. Wilson and William R. Ferris. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1989. 1135-1136.

Hobson, Fred. Serpent in Eden: H.L. Mencken and the South. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1995.

Joyner, Charles, Ed. Shared Traditions: Southern History and Folk Culture. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1999.

Katzman, David M. Seven Days a Week: Women and Domestic Service in Industrializing America. New York: Oxford University Press, 1978.

Klotter, James C., ed. The Human Tradition in the Old South. Wilmington, DE: SR Books, 2003.

Lemann, Nicholas. The Promised Land: The Great Black Migration and How It Changed America. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1991.

Manuscripts Department at UNC's Wilson Library

McDaniels, George. "Beale Street." Encyclopedia of Southern Culture . Eds. Charles R. Wilson and William R. Ferris. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1989. 1044.

Mencken, H.L. and James T. Farrell. Prejudices: A Selection. Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press, 1996.

Morgan, Philip D. Slave Counterpoint: Black Culture in the Eighteenth-Century Chesapeake and Lowcountry. Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Press, 1998.

Morrison, Olin D. The American South: A Historical Atlas. Athens, Ohio: E.M. Morrison, 1965.

North Carolina Collection at UNC's Wilson Library

Owenby, Ted. American Dreams in Mississippi: Consumers, Poverty, and Culture, 1830-1998. Chapel Hill: The University of North Carolina Press, 1999.

Parish, Peter J. Slavery: History and Historians. New York : Westview Press, 1989.

Percy, William Alexander. Lanterns on the Levee: Recollections of a Planter's Son. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1948.

Robards, Brooks. Historic America: The South. San Diego: Thunder Bay, 2003.

Ryan, Elizabeth Shreve. "Part III: Carrboro." Orange County Trio: Histories and Tour Guides. Chapel Hill, NC.: Chapel Hill Press, 2004. 287-342. (also in e-reserves)

Sanders, Kimberly Wallace. "Dishing Up Dixie: Recycling the Old South in the Early Twentieth-Century Domestic Ideal." Burning Down the House: Recycling Domesticity, Rosemary Marangoly George, Ed. Boulder: Westview Press, 1998: 215-231.

Southern Folklife Collection at UNC's Wilson Library

Southern History: SHNET

The South and Southern History: an online bibliography

Tilley, John S. Facts the Historians Leave Out / Youth's Confederate Primer. Montgomery, AL: Paragon Press, 1958.

Tindall, George. The Emergence of the New South, 1913-1945. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1967.

Tindall, George. The Ethnic Southerners. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1979.

Tindall, George. Natives and Newcomers: Ethnic Southerners and Southern Ethnics. Athens: The University of Georgia Press, 1995.

Valley of the Shadow Resources at University of Virginia

Wayne, Michael. The Reshaping of Plantation Society: The Natchez District, 1860-1880. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1983.

Williams, Noble C. Echoes from the Battlefield, or Southern Life During the War. Atlanta, GA : Franklin Printing and Publishing Co., 1902. 
The personal narrative of a Confederate soldier.

Williamson, Joel. The Crucible of Race: Black-White Relations in the American South since Emancipation. New York: Oxford University Press, 1984.

Wilson, Charles Reagan. Baptized in Blood: The Religion of the Lost Cause, 1865-1920. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1980.

Woodward, C. Vann. Origins of the New South, 1877-1913. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1951/1971.

Woodward, C. Vann. The Burden of Southern History. New York: Vintage Books, 1960.

Wyatt-Brown, Bertram. Honor and Violence in the Old South. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.

Material Culture: African American

Campbell, Jr., Edward D. C. with Kym S. Rice. Before Freedom Came: African-American Life in the Antebellum South. Charlottesville, VA: University of Virgina, 1991.

Ferris, William R. Afro-American Folk Art and Crafts. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1983.

Goings, Kenneth. Mammy and Uncle Mose: Black Collectibles and American Stereotyping. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1994.

Gundaker, Grey and Judith McWillie. The Spirit of African American Yard Work. 2005. [Not held at UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries. You may request this book by Interlibrary Loan.]

Hall, Gwendolyn Midlo. Africans in Colonial Louisiana: The Development of Afro-Creole Culture in the Eighteenth Century. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1992.

Herskovits, Melville Jean. The Myth of the Negro Past. Boston: Beacon Press, 1941.

Hurston, Zora Neale. Mules and Men: Negro Folktales and Voodoo Practices in the South. Bloomington : Indiana University Press,1935.

Manring, M.M. Slave in a Box: the Strange Career of Aunt Jemima. Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1998.

Prown, Jonathan. "The Furniture of Thomas Day: A Reevaluation." The Winterthur Portfolio, Vol. 33, No. 4. (Winter 1998) 215 - 229. (e-reserves)

Schein, Richard, ed. Landscape and Race in the United States. New York: Routledge, 2006.

Thomas Day Education Project

Vlach, John M. The Afro-American Tradition in Decorative Arts. Cleveland, OH: Cleveland Museum of Art, 1978.

Vlach, John M. Back of the Big House: The Architecture of Plantation Slavery. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1993.

Vlach, John M. and Lawrence W. Levine. By the Work of Their Hands: Studies in Afro-American Folklife. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 1991.

Westmacott, Richard. African-American Gardens and Yards in the Rural South. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1992.

Material Culture: General

Boydston, Jeanne. Home and Work: Housework, Wages, and the Ideology of Labor in the Early Republic. New York : Oxford University Press, 1990.

Bronner, Simon J., Ed. Consuming Visions: Accumulation and Display of Goods in America , 1880-1920. Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, Winterthur, DE , distributed by W. W. Norton and Co., 1989.

Bronner, Simon. "Material Culture." Eds. Jan Harold Brunvand, American Folklore: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1996.

Carson, Barbara G. and Cary Carson. "Things Unspoken: Learning Social History from Artifacts." Ed., James B. Gardner and George Rollie Adams, Ordinary People and Everyday Life. Nashville: American Association for State and Local History, 1983.

Carson, Cary, "Material Culture History: The Scholarship Nobody Knows," Eds. Ann Smart Martin, J. Ritchie Garrison, American Material Culture: The Shape of the Field. Winterthur, Delaware: The Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, 1997.

Chappell, Edward, "Housing a Nation: The Transformation of Living Standards in Early America," Ed. Ronald Hoffman, Cary Carson, and Peter J. Albert, Of Consuming Interests: The Style of Life in the Eighteenth Century. Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1992.

Csikszentmihalyi, Mihaly, "Why We Need Things," in History from Things: Essays on Material Culture, ed. Steven Lubar and W. David Kingery. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1993, 20-29.

Cowan, Ruth Schwartz. More Work for Mother: The Ironies of Household Technology from the Open Hearth to the Microwave. New York: Basic Books, Inc., 1983.

Crew, Spencer R. and James E. Sims. "Locating Authenticity: Fragments of a Dialogue." Eds. Ivan Karp and Steven D. Lavine, The Poetics and Politics of Museum Display. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1991. [Not held at UNC-Chapel Hill. You may request it by Interlibrary Loan.]

Deetz, James. In Small Things Forgotten: The Archaeology of Early American Life. New York: Anchor Books, 1977.

Glassie, Henry. Pattern in the Material Folk Culture of the Eastern United States. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1968.

Grier, Katherine C. Culture and Comfort: People, Parlors, and Upholstery, 1850-1930. Rochester, NY: The Strong Museum, 1988.

Hine, Thomas. Populuxe. New York: Knopf, Inc., 1986.

Hodder, Ian. "The Contextual Analysis of Symbolic Meanings." Interpreting Objects and Collections, Ed. Susan M. Pierce. London: Routledge, 1994.

Kouwenhoven, John A. "American Studies: Words or Things?."Material culture studies in America Ed. Thomas J. Schlereth. Nashville, TN: American Association for State and Local History, 1982. 79-82.

Kouwenhoven, John A. Made in America: The Arts in Modern Civilization. NY: Anchor Books, 1962.(also e-reserves)

Macaulay, David. Motel of the Mysteries. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1979.

Martin, Ann Smart. "Makers, Buyers, and Users: Consumerism as a Material Culture Framework." Winterthur Portfolio, Summer/Autumn, 1993.

Martin, Ann Smart and J. Ritchie Garrison, Eds. American Material Culture: The Shape of the Field.Winterthur, DE: Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum; Winterthur, DE: Distributed by University of Tennessee Press, 1997.

Martinez, Katharine and Kenneth L. Ames, Eds. The Material Culture of Gender. The Gender of Material Culture. Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, Winterthur, DE, distributed by Hanover: University Press of New England, 1997.

Mergen, Bernard. "Made, Bought, and Stolen: Toys and the Culture of Childhood." Ed., Elliott West and Paula Petrik, Small Worlds: Children and Adolescents in America, 1850-1950. Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 1992.

The Object of History, a cooperative project of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History and George Mason University’s Center for History and New Media.

Quimby, Ian M.G. Material Culture and the Study of American Life. Winterthur, Del.: the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, published by W.W. Norton and Company, Inc. 1978.

  • Hindle, Brooke. "How Much Is a Piece of the True Cross Worth?"
  • Carson, Cary. "Doing History with Material Culture."
  • Harris, Neil. "Museums, Merchandising, and Popular Taste: The Struggle for Independence."
  • Skramstad, Harold K., Jr. "Interpreting Material Culture: A View from the Other Side of the Glass."

Rybczynski, Witold. Home: A Short History of an Idea. NY: Penguin Books, 1986.

St. George, Robert B., Ed. Material life in America, 1600-1860,. Boston: Northeastern University Press, c1988.

Scanlon, Jennifer, Ed. The Gender and Consumer Culture Reader. New York: New York University Press, 2000.

Schmidt, Leigh Eric. Consumer Rites: The Buying and Selling of American Holidays. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1995.

Schlereth, Thomas J. "Introduction," and "Collecting Ideas and Artifacts: Common Problems of History Museums and History Texts." Artifacts and the American Past.Nashville: American Association for State and Local History, 1980.

Schlereth, Thomas J. Material Culture Studies in America. Nashville, TN: American Association for State and Local History, 1982.

Schroeder, Fred E.H. Outlaw Aesthetics: Arts and the Public Mind. Bowling Green: Bowling Green University Popular Press, 1977.

  • Schlereth, Thomas, "Material Culture Studies in America, 1876-1976."
  • Fleming, E. McClung, "Artifact Study: A Proposed Model."
  • Cohen, Lizabeth A. "Embellishing a Life of Labor: An Interpretation of the Material Culture of American Working-Class Homes, 1885-1915."

Schlereth, Thomas J., Ed. Material Culture: A Research Guide. Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 1985.

  • Schlereth, Thomas J. "Material Culture and Cultural Research," " Social History Scholarship and Material Culture Research."
  • Upton, Dell. "The Power of Things: Recent Studies in American Vernacular Architecture."
  • Ames, Kenneth L. "The Stuff of Everyday Life: American Decorative Arts and Household Furnishings."

Southern Picker, collecting authentic objects with cultural meaning - Southern Antiques, Garden Antiques, Primitive Art, and Vintage Photography.

Strasser, Susan. Never Done: A History of American Housework. New York: Pantheon Books, 1982.

Strasser, Susan. Satisfaction Guaranteed: The Making of the American Mass Market. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1989.

Thompson, Eleanor McD., Ed. The American Home: Material Culture, Domestic Space, and Family Life. Henry du Pont Winterthur Museum, Winterthur, DE, distributed by University of New Hampshire Press, 1998.

Strawbery Banke Museum, Shapiro House CD-ROM House Tour. Cambridge, MA: Michael Schaffer Productions, 1999. [Not held at UNC-Chapel Hill. You may request it by Interlibrary Loan.]

Uncle Ben, CEO? The Strange History of Racist Spokescharacters.

Upton, Dell. "White and Black Landscapes in Eighteenth Century Virginia." Material Life in America, 1600-1860, ed. Robert S. George. Boston: Northeastern University Press, 1988.

Museums & Public History

Ackland Art Museum

American Folk Art Museum

American Visionary Art Museum

Brear, Holly Beachley. "We Run the Alamo, and You Don't: Alamo Battles of Ethnicity and Gender." Where These Memories Grow: History, Memory, and Southern Identity. Ed. Fitzhugh Brundage. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2000. 299-317.

Colonial Williamsburg

Eudora Welty House

Frederick Douglass House

George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens

Goodheart, Adam. "Expanding on Jefferson." New York Times Magazine. 31 May 2006: 80-86. LexisNexis Academic, UNC lib., Chapel Hill, NC.

Gunston Hall Plantation

Handler, Richard and Eric Gable. The New History in an Old Museum: Creating the Past at Colonial Williamsburg. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1997.

Hermann-Grima/Gallier Historic Houses

High Museum of Art

Levine Museum of the New South

Library of Congress American Memory Project

The Lost Museum: Exploring Antebellum American Life and Culture

Tenement Museum on Manhattan's Lower East Side

Monticello

Morris Museum of Art

Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts

National History Education Center

New York Public Library Digital Library

North Carolina Museum of Art

Ogden Museum of Southern Art

Rosenzweig, Roy and David Thelen. The Presence of the Past: Popular Uses of History in American Life. New York, NY: Columbia University Press, 1998.

Rowan Oak, William Faulkner's Home

Rowan Oak: NPR Report

Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage

Smithsonian Museum of American History

Smithsonian Museum of American History's Archives

Valley of the Shadow Resources of UVA

West, Patricia. Domesticating History: The Political Origins of America's House Museums. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1999.

Winterthur Museum

Yuhl, Stephanie E. "Rich and Tender Remembering: Elite White Women and an Aesthetic Sense of Place in Charleston, 1920s and 1930s." Where These Memories Grow: History, Memory, and Southern Identity. Ed. Fitzhugh Brundage. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2000. 227-248.

Oral History

Gluck, Sherna Berger and Daphne Patai, eds. Women’s Words: The Feminist Practice of Oral History. NY: Routledge, 1991.

Ives, Edward D. The Tape-Recorded Interview: A Manual for Field Workers in Folklore and Oral History. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1974.

Minister, Kristina. "A Feminist Frame for the Oral History Interview." Women's Words: The Feminist Practice of Oral History. Eds. Sherna B. Gluck and Daphne Patai. New York: Routledge, 1991: 27-41.

Ritchie, Donald A. Doing Oral History. New York: Twayne Publishers, 1995.

Painting

Black, Patti Carr. Art in Mississippi, 1720-1980. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi in association with the Mississippi Historical Society and the Mississippi Dept. of Archives and History, 1998.

Cloar, Carroll. Hostile Butterflies and Other Paintings. Memphis, TN: Memphis State University Press, 1977.

Gruber, J. Richard and David Houston. The Art of the South, 1890-2003: The Ogden Museum of Southern Art. London: Scala Publishers ; New Orlean, La.: Ogden Museum of Art, University of New Orleans, 2004.

Hamblett, Theora. Theora Hamblett Paintings, in collaboration with Ed Meek and William S. Haynie. 1975. [Not available at UNC Libraries. You may request this book through Interlibrary Loan.]

Howorth, Lisa. The South: A Treasury of Art and Literature. New York: Hugh Lauter Levin Associates, 1993.

Poesch, Jessie J. "Painting and painters, 1564-1920." Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1989. 83-94. (also in e-reserves)

Poesch, Jessie J. Art of the Old South: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, and the Products of Craftsman, 1560-1860. New York: Knopf, 1983.

Vlach, John Michael. The Planter's Prospect: Privilege and Slavery in Plantation Paintings. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 2002.

Photography

Allen, James. Without Sanctuary: Lynching Photography in America. Santa Fe, NM: Twin Palms, 2000.

The American Image: The Photographs of John Collier, Jr.

The Ann Stewart Collection at the Undergraduate Library

The Bayard Wooten Collection

Buchanan, Paul. The Picture Man. Chapel Hil, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1993.

Clay, Maude Schuyler. Delta Land. Jackson,MS: University Press of Mississippi, 1999.

Collier, Phillip. Phillip Collier's Missing New Orleans. New Orleans, LA: Ogden Museum of Southern Art, University of New Orleans, 2005.

Fleischhauer, Carl and Beverly W. Brannan, Eds. Documenting America, 1935-1943. Berkeley: University of California Press, c1988.

Imes, Birney. Juke Joint: Photographs. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 1990.

Mora, Gilles and Beverly W. Brannan. FSA: the American vision. New York: Abrams, c2006.

Rankin, Tom. Sacred Space: Photographs from the Mississippi Delta. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 1993.

Robert Bolton's photos, in the Southern Folklife Collection

Sexton, Richard and Randolph Delehanty. New Orleans: Elegance and Decadence. 1993. [Not available at UNC Libraries. You may request this book through Interlibrary Loan.]

Quilts

Alliance for American Quilts

American Memory Project: Quilts and Quiltmaking in America, 1978-1996

America's Quilting History

Bernick, Susan E. "A Quilt is an Art Object when it Stands up like a Man."Quilt Culture: Tracing the Pattern. Eds. Cheryl B. Torsney and Judy Elsley. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 1994. 135-50. (also in e-reserves)

Frye, Gladys-Marie. Stitched from the Soul: Slave Quilts from the Antebellum South. New York: Dutton Studio Books in association with the Museum of American Folk Art, 1990.

Herman, Bernard. "Architectural Definitions."Gee’s Bend: The Architecture of the Quilt. Eds. Paul Arnett, Eugene Metcalf, and Joanne Cubbs. Atlanta: Tinwood Books, 2006). 207-219. (also in e-reserves)

Johnson, Mary Elizabeth. Mississippi Quilts. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 2001.

Johnson, Mary Elizabeth and Carol Vickers. Threading the Generations: A Mississippi Family’s Quilt Legacy. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 2005.

Kiracofe, Roderick. The American Quilt: A History of Cloth and Comfort, 1750-1950. New York: Clarkson Potter, 1993. [Not held at UNC-Chapel Hill. You may request it by Interlibrary Loan.]

NPR Quilts of Gee’s Bend

Quilt History

Vlach, John M. "Afro-American Aesthetic."Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1989. 457-458. (also in e-reserves)

Waldvogel, Marikay. Soft Covers for Hard Times: Quiltmaking and the Great Depression. Nashville: Rutledge Press, 1990.

Zegart, Shelly and Jonathan Holstein, eds. Expanding Quilt Scholarship: The Lectures, Conferences and other Presentations of Louisville Celebrates the American Quilt. Louisville, KY: The Kentucky Quilt Project, Inc., 1994. [Not held at UNC-Chapel Hill. You may request it by Interlibrary Loan.]

Religion

Hall, David D., ed. Lived Religion in America : Toward a History of Practice. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1997.

McDannell, Colleen. Material Christianity: Religion and Popular Culture in America. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1995.

Orsi, Robert. "Everyday Miracles: The Study of Lived Religion." Lived Religion in America: Toward a History of Practice. Ed. David D. Hall. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 1997.

Storytelling

Burrison, John. Storytellers: Folktales and Legends from the South. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1989.

Textiles

Wilson, Kathleen Curtis. Textile Art from Southern Appalachia: The Quiet Work of Women. Johnson City, TN: Overmountain Press, 2001.

Theory

Barth, Fredrik. Ethnic Groups and Boundaries: The Social Organization of Culture Difference . Prospect Heights , IL : Waveland Press, Inc., 1969. (originally printed by Universitesforlaget, 1969).

Bourdieu, Pierre. The field of cultural production: Essays on art and literature. New York, NY: Columbia University Press, 1993.

Bourdieu, Pierre. Distinction: A Social Critique of the Judgement of Taste. Cambridge , MA : Harvard University Press, 1987.

Braudel, Fernand. Capitalism and Material Life, 1400-1800. New York : Harper Collins, 1973.

Hill, Carole E., and Patricia D. Beaver, eds. Cultural diversity in the U.S. South: anthropological contributions to a region in transition. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 1998.

Geertz, Clifford. The Interpretation of Cultures. New York: Basic Books, 1973.

Sollers, Werner, Ed. Beyond Ethnicity: Consent and Descent in American Culture. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.

Sollers, Werner, Ed. The Invention of Ethnicity. New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.

Waters, Marcy C. Ethnic Options: Choosing Identities in America. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1990.

Tobacco

Celebrate Tobacco Barns, by the NC Dept. of Cultural Resources

Kulikoff, Allan. Tobacco and Slaves: The Development of Southern Cultures in the Chesapeake, 1680-1800. Chapel Hill: UNC Press, 1986.
Although North Carolina is not part of the Chesapeake region, this book does contain information on tobacco farms in North Carolina.

Robert, Joseph Clarke. The Tobacco Kingdom: Plantation, Market, and Factory in Virginia and North Carolina, 1800-1860. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1938.
Tobacco culture.

Scism, Laura. "Carolina Tobacco Barns: History and Function." Carolina Dwelling: Towards Preservation of Place: In Celebration of the North Carolina Vernacular Landscape. Ed. Doug Swaim. Raleigh, NC: NCSU Press, 1978. "Laura Scism came from a tobacco growing family in Caswell County. It compares the N.C. flue-cure barn with other tobacco barn types across the country, and then goes into some detail about the form of the familiar N.C. flue-cure barn and how it was used, with photographs and diagrams."--Dr. Michael Southern.

South Georgia Tobacco Patch...Growing ’Backer on the Wiregrass Plain

Tilley, Nannie Mae. The Bright-Tobacco Industry, 1860-1929. Chapel Hill, NC: UNC Press, 1948. 
Tobacco culture.

Tobacco Bag Stringing, in UNC's North Carolina Collection

Tobacco History

Tobacco History Sites, compiled by Larry Breed

The Tobacco Timeline

Upton, Dell. "Farm Buildings." Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Eds. Charles Reagan Wilson and William Ferris. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press, 1989. 65-67. (also in e-reserves)

Women

Beecher, Catherine E. and Harriet Beecher Stowe. American Woman's Home . New York : J. B. Ford and Company, 1869.

Berkin, Carol Ruth. "Women's Life." Encyclopedia of Southern Culture , Eds. Charles R. Wilson and William R. Ferris. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1989: 1519-1526.

Bernhard, Virginia, Betty Brandon, Elizabeth Fox-Genovese, and Theda Perdue, eds. Southern Women: Histories and Identities. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 1992.

Boydston, Jeanne. Home and Work: Housework, Wages, and the Ideology of Labor in the Early Republic. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.

Bynum , Victoria. Unruly Women: The Politics of Social and Sexual Control in the Old South. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1992.

Coryell, Janet, Martha H. Swain, Sandra Gioia Treadway, and Elizabeth Hayes Turner, eds. Beyond Image and Convention: Explorations in Southern Women’s History. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1998.

Cowan, Ruth Schwartz. More work for mother: The ironies of household technology from the open hearth to the microwave. New York: Basic Books, Inc., 1983.

Evans, Sara M. Born for Liberty: A History of Women in America. New York: Free Press, 1989.

Farnham, Christie Anne, ed. Women of the American South: A Multicultural Reader. New York: New York University Press, 1997.

Faust, Drew Gilpin. Mothers of Invention: Women of the Slaveholding South in the American Civil War. New York: Vintage Press, 1996.

Freeman, Roland L. "Part One: Something to Keep You Warm," A Communion of the Spirits: African-American Quilters, Preservers, and Their Stories. Nashville: Rutledge Hill Press, 1996.

Gillespie, Michele and Catherine Clinton, eds. Taking Off the White Gloves: Southern Women and Women Historians. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 1998.

Hall, Jacquelyn Dowd. "Introduction." Southern Women: Histories and Identities. Ed. Virginia Bernhard, Betty Brandon, Elizabeth Fox-Genovese, Theda Perdue. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1992: 11-29.

Martha Ballard’s diary on-line

Martinez, Katherine and Kenneth L. Ames, Eds. The Material Culture of Gender. The Gender of Material Culture. Winterthur, DE: Winterthur Museum, 1997.

  • Romines, Ann. "Putting Things in Order: The Domestic Aesthetic of Wilder’s Little House Books."
  • Przybysz, Jane. "Quilts, Old Kitchens, and the Social Geography of Gender at Nineteenth Century Sanitary Fairs."
  • Ice, Joyce. "Feminist Readings of Folk Material Culture Studies."
  • Lawless, Elaine J. "Women Folk and Popular Arts: The Need for a Grounded Theory."
  • Davis, Gayle R. "Gender and Creative Production: A Social History Lesson in Art Evaluation."

Matthews, Glenna. "Just a Housewife": The Rise and Fall of Domesticity in America. New York: Oxford University Press, 1987.

Mayo, Edith P. "New Angles of Vision." Eds. Jane R. Glaser and Artemis A. Zenetou. Gender Perspectives: Essays on Women in Museums. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1994.

Miller, Paige Putnam. "Landmarks of Women’s History." Reclaiming the Past: Landmarks of Women’s History. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1992.

National Archives' Pathfinder for Women's History

Palmer, Phyllis. Domesticity and Dirt: Housewives and Domestic Servants in the United States, 1920-1940. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1989.

Sally Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture

Scott, Ann Firor. The Southern Lady: From Pedestal to Politics, 1830-1930. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1970.

Spector, Janet D. What This Awl Means: Feminist Archaeology at a Wahpeton Dakota Village. St. Paul: Minnesota Historical Society Press, 1993.

University of Wisconsin's Women's History Resources

  • Last Updated: Nov 2, 2020 11:15 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/amst488