Skip to main content

AMST 488: No Place Like Home: Material Culture of the American South

Collections

The Carolina Story: Jewish Life at Carolina
Experience of Jews on campus through history

Documenting the American South
Digitized materials, including photos, in a variety of subjects relating to Southern history and culture.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Over 1000 diaries written by American and Canadian women. Click on simple search on the left side of the page, then search for "Jewish" in the Subject Headings box.

Jewish Women's Archive
Uncovering, chronicling, and transmitting the rich history of American Jewish women.

Jewish Heritage Foundation of North Carolina
An independent statewide organization dedicated to preserving, sharing, and celebrating Jewish culture and artistry.

Judaica Sound Archives
At Florida Atlantic University. The JSA collects, preserves, and digitizes Judaica sounds recordings.

Southern Historical Collection
Journals, photographs, letters, videos, oral histories, and other primary documents relating to Southern life in the past and present.

Southern Oral History Program
Located in Wilson Library. Search over 4000 oral histories by topic.

Southern Folklife Collection
Manuscripts, images, audio, and texts about folklife in the South.

UNC's Digital Collections
UNC's libraries have digitized many collections of photographs, exhibits, and artifacts. Most deal with life in the South, throughout various eras.

Goldring/Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life
The Institute of Southern Jewish Life's Digital Archive Project presents a history of Jewish communities in Mississippi, Arkansas, and Louisiana. More states will be added in the future

College of Charleston Jewish Heritage Collection
Documents the Jewish experience in South Carolina from colonial times to the present

William R. Ferris Collection digital collection, selected photos from the larger William R. Ferris Collection in the Southern Folklife Collection in Wilson Library

Diaries and Letters

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Over 400 diaries and collections of letters written by men and women on both sides of the Civil War.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Over 1000 diaries written by American and Canadian women, in full text.

The South on Film

The Media Resources Center owns many films depicting the South. Look at the list of Southern films, or search with FilmFinder.

Media

Documenting the American South
Digitized materials, including photos, in a variety of subjects relating to Southern history and culture.

Southern Folklife Collection
Manuscripts, images, audio, and texts about folklife in the South.

Southern Historical Collection
Journals, photographs, letters, videos, oral histories, and other primary documents relating to Southern life in the past and present.

Southern Oral History Program
Wilson Library has this collection, which can be searched by topic. Over 4000 oral histories are available, 500 of which are online.

UNC's Digital Collections
UNC's libraries have digitized many collections of photographs, exhibits, and artifacts. Most deal with life in the South, throughout various eras.

Visual Storytelling: The Digital Video Documentary, an easy-to-read how-to guide for making low-budget documentaries by Nancy Kalow from the Center for Documentary Studies. Lots of practical advice.

Alan Lomax: American Patchwork, a collection of Lomax's music shoots in Mississippi, Appalachia, and New Orleans, 1978-1983

The Carolina Story: A Virtual Museum of University History

  • Last Updated: Nov 2, 2020 11:15 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/amst488