FREN 65 La Mode: Fashion in French Culture: Background resources
Fashion studies reference
Adorned in Dreams by
When Adorned in Dreams was first published in 1985, Angela Carter described the book as "the best I have read on the subject, bar none." From haute couture to haberdashery, "deviant" dress to Dior, Elizabeth Wilson traces the social and cultural history of fashion and its complex relationship to modernity. She also discusses fashion's vociferous opponents, from the "dress reform" movement to certain strands of feminism. Wilson delights in the power of fashion to mark out identity or subvert it. This brand new edition of her book follows recent developments to bring the story of fashionable dress up to date, exploring the grunge look inspired by bands like Nirvana, the "boho chic" of the mid 90's, retro-dressing, and the meanings of dress from the veil to soccer player David Beckham's pink-varnished toenails.
ISBN: 0813533333Publication Date: 2003-12-02
The culture of clothing by ISBN: 2735105679
Dress and Gender by
Dress is one of the most significant markers of gender identity, yet is only rarely explored in depth. This volume addresses the relationship between gender and dress, opening up fascinating aspects by covering a great variety of ethnographic areas reaching from Asia, Europe and Africa to North and South America. The time span is equally wide-ranging and offers present-day material as well as studies based on historical data.
ISBN: 0854967206Publication Date: 1993-04-14
The Face of Fashion by
A study of fashion and the body, which aims to establish the relations between codes and systems of clothing and the conduct of everyday life. This text addresses the area of men's as well as women's fashion, within a broad examination of the role of fashion in gender identity.
ISBN: 0415052610Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Fashion Cultures by
From the catwalk to the shopping mall, from the big screen to the art museum, fashion plays an increasingly central role in contemporary culture. Fashion Cultures investigates why we are so fascinated by fashion and the associated spheres of photography, magazines and television, and shopping. Fashion Cultures: * re-addresses the fashionable image, considering the work of designers from Paul Smith to Alexander McQueen and Hussein Chalayan * investigates the radicalism of fashion photography, from William Klein to Corinne Day * considers fashion for the 'unfashionable body' (the old and the big), football and fashion, and geographies of style * explores the relationship between fashion and the moving image in discussions of female cinema icons - from Grace Kelly to Gwyneth Paltrow - and iconic male images - from Cary Grant to Malcolm X and Mr Darcy - that have redefined notions of masculinity and cool * makes a significant intervention into contemporary gender politics and theory, exploring themes such as spectacle, masquerade, and the struggle between fashion and feminism.
ISBN: 0415206855Publication Date: 2001-01-29
The Fashion Reader by
This new edition of a bestselling textbook is designed for students, scholars, and anyone interested in contemporary fashion. The book brings together the key writings on the subject, covering the history, culture, and business of fashion. The essays are drawn from a wide range of sources - books, professional and academic journals, magazines, interviews, and exhibition catalogues. Each section is specially introduced and concludes with guides to further reading. The new edition has been entirely revised and expanded: there are new sections on psychology, ethnicity, design and manufacture, marketing and merchandising, and sustainability; several new essays have been specially written for the reader; the range of illustrations has been increased. In its second edition, The Fashion Reader is the ideal introductory text for all students of fashion
ISBN: 9781847885906Publication Date: 2011-02-01
The Language of Fashion by
Roland Barthes, widely regarded as one of the most subtle and perceptive critics of the 20th Century, was particularly fascinated by fashion and clothing. The Language of Fashion brings together all Barthes' untranslated writings on fashion.The Language of Fashion presents a set of remarkable essays, revealing the breadth and insight of Barthes' long engagement with the history of clothes. The essays range from closely argued essays laying down the foundations for a structural and semiological analysis of clothing to a critical analysis of the significance of gemstones and jewellery, from an exploration of how the contrasting styles of Courrges and Chanel replayed the clash between ancient and modern to a discussion of the meaning of hippy style in Morocco, and from the nature of desire to the role of the dandy and colour in fashion.Constantly questioning, always changing, Barthes' ideas about clothes and fashion remain to provoke another generation of readers seeking to understand not only the culture of fashion but the fashion of culture.
ISBN: 1845203801Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Men's Fashion Reader by
With Men's Fashion Reader, students of fashion have a resource to help them understand an important, yet sometimes neglected, segment of the apparel industry: menswear. Design and merchandising students learn how and why men buy clothing and how to forecast future trends. Addressing the social, cultural, and psychological phenomenon of men's dress, the readings blend consumer behavior and history to create a better understanding of men's fashion. This book is a must-read for the well-rounded fashionista, designer, merchandiser, or fashion scholar.
ISBN: 1563675366Publication Date: 2008-07-14
Fashion encyclopedias and dictionaries
ISBN: 9781780975696
Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion.ISBN: 9781847881045
The Dictionary of Fashion History by
- What is an earthquake gown? - Who wore eelskin masher trousers? - What did the word "dudes" mean in the 16th century? A Dictionary of English Costume by C. Willett Cunnington, Phillis Cunnington and Charles Beard was originally published in 1960. A monumental achievement and encyclopaedic in scope, it was a comprehensive catalogue of fashion terms from the mid-medieval period up to 1900. It was reissued and updated several times, for the last time in 1976. For decades it has served as a bible for costume historians. The Dictionary of Fashion History completely updates and supplements the Cunningtons' landmark work to bring it up to the present day. Featuring additional terms and revised definitions, this new edition represents an essential reference for costume historians, students of fashion history, or anyone involved in creating period costume for the theatre, film or television. It also is fascinating reading for those simply interested in the subject. Clear, concise, and meticulous in detail, this essential reference answers countless questions relating to the history of dress and adornment and promises to be a definitive guide for generations to come.
ISBN: 9781847885340Publication Date: 2010-09-01
The Encyclopaedia of Fashion by ISBN: 9780810908826Publication Date: 1986-10-01
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by
From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. A new addition to the Scribner Daily Life series, which includes the best-selling Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, this broad-based encyclopedia surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc. The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion includes a comprehensive general index in the last volume, a timeline, and a topical outline. From the secondary school student writing a paper on dress among Native Americans to the university student interested in the underpinnings of clothing design, this set represents a unique and valuable source.
ISBN: 9780684313948Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry by
The history of clothing begins with the origin of man, and fashionable dress can be traced as far back as 25,000 years ago. Recent scientific explorations have uncovered graves in northern Russia with skeletons covered in beads made of mammoth ivory that once adorned clothing made of animal skin. The Ancient Egyptians, Greeks, and Romans each made major contributions to fashion's legacy from their textile innovations, unique clothing designs and their early use of accessories, cosmetics, and jewelry. During the Middle Ages, 'fashion trends' emerged as trade and commerce thrived allowing the merchant class to afford to emulate the fashions worn by royals. However, it is widely believed that fashion didn't became an industry until the industrial and commercial revolution during the latter part of the 18th century. Since then, the industry has grown exponentially. Today, fashion is one of the biggest businesses in the world, with hundreds of billions of dollars in turnover and employing tens of millions of workers. It is both a profession, an industry, and in the eyes of many, an art. The Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry examines the origins and history of this billion-dollar industry. This is done through a list of acronyms and abbreviations, a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on designers, models, couture houses, significant articles of apparel and fabrics, trade unions, and the international trade organizations.
ISBN: 9780810864191Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The Routledge Companion to Fashion Studies by
This collection of original essays interrogates disciplinary boundaries in fashion, gathering fashion studies research across disciplines and from around the globe. Fashion and clothing are part of material and visual culture, cultural memory, and heritage; they contribute to shaping the way people see themselves, interact, and consume. For each of the volume's eight parts, scholars from across the world and a variety of disciplines offer analytical tools for further research. Never neglecting the interconnectedness of disciplines and domains, these original contributions survey specific topics and critically discuss the leading views in their areas. They include discursive and reflective pieces, as well as discussions of original empirical work, and contributors include established leaders in the field, rising stars, and new voices, including practioner and industry voices. This is a comprehensive overview of the field, ideal not only for undergraduate and postgraduate fashion studies students, but also for researchers and students in communication studies, the humanities, gender and critical race studies, social sciences, and fashion design and business.
ISBN: 9780429559433Publication Date: 2021-09-19
World Clothing and Fashion by
Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewellery) for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined in depth and detail. Fashion and design trends in diverse historical periods, regions and countries, and social and ethnic groups constitute a major area of coverage, as does the evolution of materials (from animal fur to textiles to synthetic fabrics) and production methods (from sewing and weaving to industrial manufacturing and computer-aided design). Dress as a reflection of social status, intellectual and artistic trends, economic conditions, cultural exchange, and modern media marketing are recurring themes. Influential figures and institutions in fashion design, industry and manufacturing, retail sales, production technologies, and related fields are also covered.
ISBN: 9780765683007Publication Date: 2013-11-30
Timelines, history blogs and sites
- TimelineThe Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe.
- Fashion-EraFashion-era looks at women's costumes and fashion history and analyses the mood of an era. Changes in technology, leisure, work, cultural and moral values, homelife, and politics have all contributed to lifestyle trends that influence the clothes women in particular choose to wear.
- Material ModeThe official blog of SPARC, the Special Collections and College Archives Department at the Fashion Institute of Technology library.
Documentaries on fashion and designers
- Hand made with love in FranceA celebration of the artisans who create fabulous haute-couture outfits for Dior, Chanel and Yves Saint Laurent: M. Gérard Lognon, a third-generation specialist in pleat-making; M. Bruno Legeron, a designer of perfect artificial flowers whose atelier opened in 1880; and M. Lorenzo Ré, one of three remaining sculptors of wooden forms for hat-making.
- Dior and IA thrilling behind-the-scenes look at the creation of Raf Simons's highly anticipated first Haute Couture collection as Christian Dior's new Artistic Director.
- Marie AntoinetteThe story of a monarch, swept to her death in the torrent of the French Revolution. It is also the tale of a fragile young woman struggling to find herself during one of the most turbulent moments in human history.
- Paris Is BurningWhere does voguing come from, and what, exactly, is throwing shade? This landmark documentary provides a vibrant snapshot of the 1980s through the eyes of New York City’s African American and Latinx Harlem drag-ball scene. Made over seven years, PARIS IS BURNING offers an intimate portrait of rival fashion “houses,” from fierce contests for trophies to house mothers offering sustenance in a world rampant with homophobia, transphobia, racism, AIDS, and poverty.
- Versailles '73 : American runway revolutionOn November 28, 1973, Le Grand Divertissement à Versailles was both held at and orchestrated as a fashion gala to raise money for the restoration of the Palace of Versailles. The event showcased the best of both American and French designers, with the Americans upstaging the French. It was also an important moment for African American models who previously had not played significant roles in international, high-profile fashion shows such as this. Ultimately, a new order in the fashion world was created, now dominated by American designers.
Connect with us
