LGBTQIA+ Studies Resources: Russian Federation: Community organizations and online projects
Community Organizations
Альянс гетеросексуалов и ЛГБТ за равноправие
Alliance of heterosexuals and LGBT for equal rights, a human rights organization operating in Saint Petersburg since 2012. Last accessed February 14, 2023, Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/straights.for.equality; VKontakte: http://vk.com/straights_for_equality
Международный кинофестиваль «Бок о Бок»
Side by Side International Film Festival, held in Saint Petersburg since 2009. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://bok-o-bok.com
ЛГБТ-инициативная группа «Выход»
LGBT-activist group “Coming Out“, advocacy and support organization operating in Saint Petersburg since 2008. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://comingoutspb.com/
Дело ЛГБТ+
Organization providing legal support for the LGBTQIA+ community. Last accessed January 18, 2024, https://delo-lgbt.online/
Интерсекс Россия (Intersex Russia)
Intersex advocacy organization based in Moscow, active since 2017. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://www.intersexrussia.org/
Самарская общественная организация ЛГБТ+ "Ирида"
LGBT+ organization based in Samara.
Квирфест: Международный фестиваль квир-культуры в Санкт-Петербурге
Queerfest: International Festival of Queer Culture, held Saint Petersburg since 2009. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://queerfest.ru
КИТ-инициатива
Trans*, queer, and intersex advocacy and support group based in Samara. Website http://no-male-no-female.tilda.ws/beyourself is inaccessible as of January 25, 2023, but has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20191229232746/http://no-male-no-female.tilda.ws/beyourself
МКЦ: Московский комьюнити центр для ЛГБТ+ инициатив
Moscow Community Center for LGBT+ Initiatives. Last accessed November 25, 2022, https://mcclgbt.com/ [Website is inaccessible as of February 14, 2023]
Московская ЛГБТ-инициативная группа «Стимул»
Moscow LGBT Initiative Group “Stimul”, human rights organization operating in Moscow since 2015. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://linktr.ee/lgbt_stimul (website https://www.msk-stimul.eu/ is not accessible as of May 12, 2022)
Мурманская группа ЛГБТ+ “Maksimum”
Murmansk LGBT+ Group “Maximum”, human rights organization operating in Murmansk since 2007. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://maximum51.org
Принятие
Accept Center, queer support organization and community center based in Kazan', which existed 2019-2022. Last accessed November 22, 2022, https://accept.center [Center has closed its doors in 2022; website is inaccessible as of February 14, 2023, social media accounts moribund as of 2022]
Проект LaSky: Центр профилактики ВИЧ-инфекции и поддержки людей, живущих с ВИЧ
LaSky Project: Center for HIV Prevention and Support of People Living with HIV, last accessed February 14, 2023, https://lasky.ru/
Проект менТ*ального здоровья «Человек - Человеку»
Mental health support organization for trans* people. Website http://www.humantohuman.ru/ is inaccessible as of January 25, 2023, but has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20220314100257/http://www.humantohuman.ru/
Проект правовой помощи трансгендерным людям
Transgender Legal Defense Project, operating since 2012. Last accessed February 14, 2023, http://pravo-trans.eu/
Равенство в труде
Organization fighting discrimination in employment, including of LGBTQIA+ people. Last accessed February 14, 2023, http://ravenstvo.org/
Равные
Association of human rights activists from Karelia, Murmansk oblast', and Moscow fighting discrimination (including against LGBTQIA+ people) in the Barents Sea region. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://www.edpnord.com/
Радужная ассоциация
Moscow-based LGBTQIA+ support and advocacy group. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://vk.com/radarus
Инициативная группа ЛГБT+ «Реверс»
Human rights organization operating in Krasnodar since 2015, with a branch in Rostov-na-Donu. Last accessed November 23, 2022, https://reverslgbt.org/ [Website is not accessible as of February 14, 2023]
Ресурс ЛГБТКИА Москва
Advocacy and support group operating in Moscow since 2011. Last accessed November 25, 2022, http://resursmoscow.ru/ [Website is inaccessible as of February, 2023. Defunct website https://resourcerus.org has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20220000000000*/https://resourcerus.org]
Ресурсный центр для ЛГБТ
Ekaterinburg Social Project for LGBT People, community center in Ekaterinburg, offering legal and psychological support and monitoring discrimination. Part of the Russian LGBT Network, operating since 2014. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://center-r.com
Российская ЛГБТ-сеть
Russian LGBT Network, largest LGBTIQ+ human rights organization in Russia, active since 2006. The organization is based in Saint Petersburg and coordinates a network of 13 regional centers. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://lgbtnet.org/
Свободная психология
Network of therapists working with people who experience discrimination and stigmatization, particularly based on gender, gender identity, and sexual orientation. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://vk.com/psy_of_liberty
Кризисная группа СК SOS
Human rights organization helping LGBTQ+ people and their families who face persecution in the Northern Caucasus, active since 2017, https://sksos.org/
Сфера
LGBT+ human rights organization active since 2011.
Транс-инициативная группа «Т-Действие»
Trans-activist group “T-Action”, advocacy group operating in Saint Petersburg since 2014. Last accessed February 14, 2023, http://t-action-team.org
Т*оварищ
Defunct support group for trans men. Archived version of website last accessed January 23, 2023, https://web.archive.org/web/20171021001716/http://tovarishch.tilda.ws/
Транс*коалиция на постсоветском пространстве
Trans*coalition in the post-Soviet Space, human rights organization uniting activists from Armenia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Uzbekistan and Ukraine, operating since 2013. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://www.transcoalition.net/
Транс*люди за доступ к здравоохранению
Transgender health patient advocacy group. Website https://transhealth.ru/ in inaccessible as of January 23, 2023, but has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20220927024221/https://transhealth.ru/
Транс*Формация
Association of trans* activist groups. Last accessed January 10, 2023, https://vk.com/transformatsija
Федерация ЛГБТ-спорта России
Association of Russian LGBTIQ+ athletes, operating since 2010. Last accessed February 14, 2023, http://www.gay-sport.ru/
Центр Т
T Center, trans* support and advocacy organization based in Moscow. Last accessed February 14, 2023, https://centre-t.ru/
Action LGBT+
Moscow-based activist group. Last accessed January 25, 2023, https://t.me/s/action_moscow
FREEdom
LGBTQIA+ support project based in Perm'. Last accessed January 10, 2023, https://vk.com/lgbt_prm
mtfclub.ru
Forum for trans women. Last accessed January 25, 2023, http://mtfclub.ru/forum/
ЛГБТ-служение Nuntiare et Recreare
Faith-based support organization for LGBT people. Website https://www.nuntiare.org is inaccessible as of January 25, 2023, but has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20221006201231/https://www.nuntiare.org/
Quarteera
Organization for russophone LGBTQIA+ people living in Germany. Last accessed January 25, 2023, https://www.quarteera.de/
Queer Peace
Support group for LGBTQIA+ people with disabilities. Last accessed January 25, 2023, https://vk.com/queer2000
T9 NSK
Organization for transgender people and those close to them, based in Novosibirsk and active since 2015. Last accessed January 10, 2023, https://ru.t9nsk.org
Ural Pride Week
Website https://uralprideweek.ru is inaccessible as of November 22, 2022, but has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20220000000000*/uralprideweek.ru
Media & Online Projects
Библиотека ЛГБТИК+
Digital library project based out of Ukraine, focusing on primarily Russophone publications from the post-Soviet space. A sub-site devoted to lesbian publications can be found here: https://lesbilibrary.blogspot.com/. Last accessed January 23, 2023, https://lgbtlibrary.blogspot.com/
Бисексуальный четверг
Telegram channel of Saint Petersburg-based bisexual activist Aleksei Sergeev (Алексей Сергеев). Last accessed January 9, 2023, https://t.me/s/bisex4
Вслух: литературный квир-журнал
Online magazine dedicated to queer art and literature. Last accessed May 23, 2023, http://vsluhzhurnal.com/
Гендерное путешествие
Project aimed at educating psychologists, psychiatrists, sexologists and social workers. Website https://gender-journey.org/ is inaccessible as of January 9, 2023, but has been archived on March 25, 2022: https://web.archive.org/web/20220501000000*/https://gender-journey.org/
Гуттаперча
Information project for and about trans* people, active since 2018. Last accessed January 9, 2023, Telegram: https://t.me/s/guttaperchajournal and ВКонтакте: https://vk.com/guttaperchajournal
Дети-404
LGBTQIA+ adolescent support project. Last accessed January 9, 2023, Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/children.404/ and ВКонтакте: http://vk.com/deti404_vk
Иллюминатор
Support project for parents of LGBTQIA+ people. Website https://illuminator.info/ is inaccessible as of February 2022, but has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20210419062219/http://illuminator.info/ The extensive video library, previously hosted on Vimeo, appears to be lost, though you can get a sense of the coverage from the playlist archived in Wayback Machine, last accessed January 8, 2024: https://web.archive.org/web/20210731201222/https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrIrWQTCwwMrivId44I0lQA?view_as=subscriber
Квир-экран
Telegram channel about queer themes in Russian and Soviet cinema by Stasia Korotkova (Стася Короткова). Last accessed January January 9, 2023, https://t.me/s/queer_screen
Квиркультура в России
Defunct (as of 2021) portal devoted to queer art and culture in the Russian Federation. Last accessed February 7, 2023, https://queerculture.io/ (website https://queerculture.ru/ is not accessible as of February 7, 2023, but has been archived: https://web.archive.org/web/20220402010748/https://queerculture.ru/)
Лейсбийское лобби
Telegram channel about queer women run by journalists and activists Maria Latsinskaia (Мария Лацинская) and Katia Kudriavtseva (Катя Кудрявцева). Last accessed January 9, 2023, https://t.me/s/lesbianlobby
ЛюБИ
Bisexual rights activist group. Last accessed January 9, 2023, Telegram: https://t.me/s/bisexuality_lubi, Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1453792034842926
Музей истории ЛГБТ в России
Project aimed at popularizing and Russian queer history that partners with privately held Arkiv lesbiianok i geev (Архив лесбиянок и геев). Appears to be moribund as of 2020. Last accessed January 9, 2023, https://lgbtru.com/
Незнание
Independent literary journal, founded in 2019 by Arina Boiko (Арина Бойко), Liza Kamenskaia (Лиза Каменская), and Sania Guseva (Саня Гусева), focusing on publishing queer authors, women, and other marginalized authors. Last accessed June 9, 2023, http://notknowing.ru/
Новая философия пола
Intersex media project.
Открытые
Defunct online zine covering queer culture. Website https://o-zine.ru is inaccessible as of the end of 2021.
Парни+
Portal focused on gay sexual health and family relations, but also containing a variety of articles on the LGBTQIA+ community in Russia. Last accessed January 9, 2023, https://parni.plus/
Помыла руки
Telegram channel of sex education activist Sasha Kazantseva (Саша Казанцева). Last accessed January 9, 2023, https://t.me/s/washed_hands
Россия для геев
Telegram channel of activist Fedor Fetisov (Федор Фетисов). Last accessed November 9, 2023, https://t.me/s/russiaforgays
Содом и умора
Telegram channel originally reviewing queer books and film, recently more of a personal blog from author and literary critic Konstantin Kropotkin (Константин Кропоткин), based in Berlin. Last accessed November 9, 2023, https://t.me/s/gaybooksfilms
Тётки
Project to reclaim Russian gay male history, from activist Nikita Andriianov (Никита Андриянов). Last accessed November 9, 2023, https://www.instagram.com/izvestnye_tetki/
Урания
Online magazine on Russian and world queer history. Last accessed January 10, 2023, https://ourania.ru
Az.gay.ru
Moribund LGBTQIA+ literary portal, a project of the defunct magazinе Квир. Last accessed January 26, 2023, http://az.xgayru.info/
just got lucky / просто повезло
Telegram chanel about LGBTQ people and queer culture, founded by Karen Shainian (Карен Шаинян). Last accessed December 4, 2024, https://t.me/s/queerography
Kimkibabaduk
Feminist critique of the film industry (as well as some video games, books, and music), typically through a queer lens. Website https://kkbbd.com/ is not accessible as of January 9, 2023, but has been archived on June 5, 2022: https://web.archive.org/web/20220605233348/https://kkbbd.com/
Out Loud
Online magazine on LGBTQIA+ lives in Russia and abroad. Last accessed November 9, 2022, http://outloudmag.eu/
xGay.ru
LGBTQIA+ portal covering a variety of topics, active since 1997. Last accessed February 7, 2023, https://www.xgayru.info/
