Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Legal Treatises by Subject

In this guide you will find general resources for various fields of law arranged alphabetically.

Family Law/Domestic Relations

Domestic Torts : Family Violence, Conflict, and Sexual Abuse. Revised ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson/West, 2005 (2016 Supplement)  [KF1269 .K37 2005].

This practice-oriented treatise contains discussion of the law of domestic torts in all 50 states, and includes practical discussions of litigation approaches, theories of abuse, defense options, potentially liable third-party defendants, and psychological profiles.

Dobbs, Marian F. Determining Child & Spousal Support. Eagan, MN : West, 2011- (2019 Supplement) [KF549 .B462] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This resource contains analysis of major child and spousal support principles which are applicable in many jurisdictions.  It contains forms and worksheets along with completed examples and explanations intended to guide attorneys and consultants in support calculations.

Joslin, Courtney G. and Price Minter, Shannon. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Family Law. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This treatise provides an overview of marriage, divorce, adoption, custody, surrogacy and assisted reproduction, and other family law issues as they pertain to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals.

Kelso, Lloyd T. North Carolina Family Law Practice. St. Paul, MN : Thomson/West, 2008- (2017 Supplement) [KFN7500 .K442 2008] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This resource contains treatise-like analysis of issues in family law arranged by topic, with statutory and case law discussion included.

Reynolds, Suzanne. Lee's North Carolina Family Law. 5th ed. Charlottesville, VA : Michie Co., 1993- (2018 Supplement) [KFN7494 .L43 1993] (Reserve Room) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

Lee’s North Carolina Family Law covers the state’s laws governing marriage, divorce, child support and custody, parent child relationships, adoption and assisted conception, and procreational liberties among other topics.

Family Law and Practice. Rutkin, Arnold H., general editor. New York, NY : M. Bender, 1985- [KF503.4 .F35] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].

This comprehensive treatise covers uniform act approaches and various states’ approaches to marriage and divorce, domestic violence, child custody and visitation, child and spousal support, and other family law issues.

Adoption Law and Practice. Joan Heifetz Hollinger, editor-in-chief. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 1988- (2019 update) [KF545 .A93] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

By far the most respected title in adoption law, this treatise places local issues in broader context, provides information about interstate, state-federal, and international aspects of adoption, and is the acknowledged authority for dealing with the increased "constitutionalizing" of adoption law and practice. 

McCahey, John P. et al. Child Custody and Visitation Law and Practice. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 1983- (2019 update) [KF547 .C47]. 

This treatise covers all custody and visitation matters handled by the family law practitioner including: every phase of a disputed custody or visitation proceeding, effective use of expert witnesses, substantive law of custody and visitation, alternatives to traditional approaches, practical advise on management of a case, and analysis of UCCJEA, PKPA, ICWA, and the Hague Convention on Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction.

Haralambie, Ann M. Handling Child Custody, Abuse and Adoption Cases. 3rd ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters/West, 2009- (2018-2019 Supplement) [KF547 .H37] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty]. 

This treatise contains detailed, practical advise and case summaries on all the issues concerning this increasingly sensitive area of the law. It thoroughly explains: establishing parentage, assisted reproductive technology, proving abuse, terminating parental rights, same sex- marriage, civil unions, and domestic partnerships, alternatives to litigation, drafting mediation agreements, etc. 

Turner, Brett R. Equitable Distribution of Property. 4th ed. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2019- [KF524 .G642] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].  

This treatise addresses a variety of problems involving property division systems, specific types of properties, and the mechanics of division. 

Quicklinks