Kris, David S. and Wilson, J. Douglas. National Security Investigations & Prosecutions. St. Paul, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2010- (2023 Update) [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise presents the law governing, and related to, national security investigations (NSIs). An NSI is an investigation conducted by the United States government to acquire information about foreign threats to the national security, e.g., international terrorism. This text: explains the federal government's power, and limits on that power, in the area of NSIs; describes the investigative tools available to the government, explaining how they work and how they can be challenged; provides step-by-step guidance for companies regarding civil and criminal liability for actions involving electronic surveillance; and covers laws that apply, and issues that arise, when an NSI leads to prosecution or other litigation.
Gilligan, Francis A. and Lederer, Fredric I. Court-Martial Procedure. 5th ed. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 2020- (2023 Update) [KF7625 .G55] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise covers the phases of military criminal procedure, from initiation of charges through conviction, appeal, and collateral attack. In addition to the complete text of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, Rules for Court-Martial, and the Manual for Courts-Martial, this work provides valuable guidelines to many aspects of military trial procedure.
Saltzburg, Stephen A. Military Rules of Evidence Manual. 9th ed. New York, NY : Matthew Bender & Company, 2020- (2024 Update) [KF7628 .S25 2020] [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise includes virtually every military court decision applying a military rule of evidence since 1981. First published in 1980, the Manual has been cited hundreds of times by military, federal, and state courts. The Rules are fully annotated and intuitively organized, showing you: the official text of each rule of evidence; insightful editorial comments on the rule; the Drafters' Analysis; and annotations of cases that have been interpreted and applied the rule.
Schlueter, David A. Military Criminal Justice : Practice and Procedure. Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This definitive two-volume work is a user-friendly guide through the unique procedural and substantive rules governing military criminal justice practice. It is designed to assist those who practice military justice, both civilian and military, as well as those studying the military justice system. Supported with cites to thousands of cases, statutory provisions, and regulations, the text covers virtually every aspect of military criminal law - from arrest to appeal, substantive crimes, and nonjudicial punishment.
Schlueter, David A. Military Crimes and Defenses. Matthew Bender & Company, 2012- (2024 Update) [Available electronically via Lexis Advance to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This handy one-volume resource offers an in-depth look at the substantive aspects of military justice and is designed to help both the experienced practitioner and the notice find his or her way through the punitive articles of the Uniform Code of Military Justice. It covers the myriad aspects of writing the charges and specifications, analyzing possible defenses, and possible instructions to the court members.
Guide to Homeland Security. Eagan, MN : Thomson Reuters, 2003- (2024 Update) [KF7685.A68 G85] [Available electronically via Westlaw to UNC Law Students and Faculty].
This treatise provides coverage of acts adn regulations in the emerging area of homeland security. It provides the full contents of acts such as the USA Patriot Act and the Bioterrorism Preparedness Act as well as analysis which helps you comply with the new requirements. The work: analyzes the major acts under Homeland Security to provide you with means of understanding and complying with the new regulations; includes information about deadlines, contact information,a nd locations to obtain required reporting forms; provides annotation covering selected portions of the acts; updated ALR materials and updated primary law materials.
