SPAN 741/CMPL 741: The Essay and Short Story Seminar (Fall 2019): Finding Articles

Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.

Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.

Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.

Provides access to millions of articles in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000, many of which are not in English.

Provides keyword indexing to the articles of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences in dozen of languages from their first issues to 1995.

Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.

Currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.

Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.

Offers a wealth of critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.

A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.

This site is a portal providing free access to full-text articles published in 1138 different Latin American, Iberian and Caribbean journals covering a variety of topics in the areas of science and technology, social sciences, and humanities.

An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.

A model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. It contains scores of journals in all subjects published in Latin America and Spain. This archive includes complete electronic editions of print titles from the 1990s onward. You can search by author, title word, subject, institutional affiliations, or year; you also can limit searching by country of origin, subject category, or journal title.

Founded in 1931 by Argentine intellectual Victoria Ocampo (1890-1979) and featured the writings of the leading figures in literature, philosophy, history and the plastic arts from Latin America, North America and Western Europe. The edition includes images of the complete magazine and a set of images of manuscripts from the first issue as well as an unpublished set of letters by Victoria Ocampo.