Clinical Laboratory Science/Molecular Diagnostic Science: Databases

This guide was developed by the Health Sciences Library in collaboration with the Division of Clinical Laboratory Science.

UNC Clinical Laboratory Science Citation Style

Core Databases for CLS/MDS Students

Interdisciplinary Databases

Clinical Information

Medical, Drug and Patient Information

 

Drug Information
In addition to the drug information in ClincalKey and UptoDate, see these resources:

 

Patient Education
In addition to the patient education materials available in ClinicalKey, UptoDate and Micromedex, see these resources:

Find @ UNC

Click on the Find @ UNC button button in database results to:

  • Go directly to most online articles
  • Export article citations to Endnote or to formats for other reference managers
  • Use Google Scholar or the Google Scholar Button browser add-in to find free full text.
  • Search the UNC-CH Library Catalog to find the print journal
  • Send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if the journal is not owned by UNC-CH

Why Use Multiple Databases?

Different databases focus on different areas of the literature, which is particularly true in MDS/CLS. A 2003 study of the clinical laboratory science literature (including molecular diagnostic science) indicated that, “Comprehensive coverage of the literature of the field can only be accomplished through the use of multiple bibliographic databases, although each of the various indexing services fills an important niche.”  Reference:  Delwiche, FA.  Mapping the Literature of Clinical Laboratory Science. J Med Libr Assoc 91(3), July 2003, p 309.

Learn How to Use Library Databases

A to Z Databases

All campus databases

  • browse by title
  • browse by subject
  • search by database name

Additional Guides of Interest

Aids for Organizing Your Search

Use this guide to help visualize and plan your search:


Use this log to keep your search organized and to document your search strategy for reporting: