Consumer Health at HSL
General Health Resources
- MedlinePlus - Recommended starting place for searching for reliable and trustworthy health information. MedlinePlus covers over 1000 health conditions, drugs and supplements, medical tests, a medical encyclopedia and more. All of the information is free and the site is a service of the National Library of Medicine, one of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Their mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.
- My Healthfinder - From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, this site offers health information in English and Spanish, on a wide variety of health topics, including the ability to get personalized recommendations for screenings and vaccines.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health - This Center is one of the National Institutes of Health and conducts and supports research and provides information about complementary health products and practices. Sections include Health Topics A-Z, Herbs at a Glance, Know the Science, Be an Informed Consumer, Tips on Complementary Health, and more.
Drugs, Herbals, and Supplements
- MedlinePlus: Drug Information - Information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
- National Library of Medicine's Drug Information Portal - Gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
- Dietary Supplement Labels Database - The database is intended to capture all information from the labels of products sold as dietary supplements in the U.S.
- DailyMed - This searchable database from the National Library of Medicine, provides labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration by companies. It contains labeling for prescription and non-prescriptions drugs for human and animal use, and for additional products such as medical gases, devices, cosmetics, dietary supplements, and medical foods.
- Drugs.com - The Drug Information Database on this site is powered by several independent medical information suppliers, including the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum and IBM Watson Micromedex. All content is peer-reviewed.
- About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products - From the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, this site provides comprehensive and objective information, backed by scientific references, about herbs, botanicals, supplements, complementary therapies, and more.
- Natural Medicines - Evidence-based information about complementary and integrative therapies.
Mental Health Resources and Online Support Communities
- Mental Health (CDC) - This site from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides information, data and publications, tools and resources, and a link to the Suicide Prevention Lifeline phone number and website.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) - SAMHSA is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance and improve the behavioral health of the nation and to improve the lives of people living with mental and substance abuse disorders, and their families.
- National Institute of Mental Health: Health Topics - This organization is the federal agency leading research on mental disorders and offers information on mental disorders and a range of related topics.
- National Suicide Prevention Lifeline - This is a network of local crisis centers that provides free and confidential support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) - The nation's largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.
- American Psychiatric Association: Patients and Families - This site provides information on common mental disorders, including symptoms, risk factors, and treatment options.
- Daily Strength - Moderated communities of support groups on a wide variety of challenges.
- Patients Like Me - Communities of people that can provide support through shared experience and outcomes.