A frequently updated resource that "provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency with data from various United States government departments.
Contains the online versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy by the Federal Research Division, Library of Congress. Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of 101. Because the original intent of the series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive, and some countries are not included.
Access: No restrictions. Coverage: Varies for each country
Creates visually-engaging graphs and animation using longitudinal socioeconomic data. It is useful for regression analysis and analyzing correlations, particularly for countries in the developing world.
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
"Provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe." Browse by country, topic, or indicator. Also contains a Data Catalog with downloadable "databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources."
The standard source of international and country finance statistics. For most countries of the world, IFS Online provides current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Contains world economic and demographic data, information on sales of consumer products, forecasts, consumer behavior and lifestyle statistics, and retail trade analysis.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies. Most data for past few years, some back to 1977.
Offers statistics on over 550 development indicators from over 200 countries and 18 country groups, from 1960 to present. Covers national economies, population, natural resources, financial matters, and environmental variables.
Access: No restrictions. Coverage: 1960 - present, updated quarterly.