Skip to main content

Disability Studies in Latin America and Iberia: Home

This LibGuide is an introduction to some of the institutions, authors, and scholarship on disability studies in Latin America and Iberia. This includes both sociopolitical and economic perspectives, as well as analysis of disability in media.

Welcome

This LibGuide is an introduction to some of the institutions, authors, and scholarship on disability studies in Latin America and Iberia. This includes both sociopolitical and economic perspectives, as well as analysis of disability in media.

What Is Disability Studies?

Introduction

a protest for disability rights with many protestors in the foreground, some with visible physical disabilitiesDisability Studies is an academic field that challenges traditional and medical perspectives of disability by viewing it as socially constructed and informed. The field is growing in popularity in English-speaking Western countries like the United Kingdom, Canada, and the United States, but is a global phenomenon. It is interdisciplinary, in that scholars may examine disability in fields like the arts, humanities, health and social sciences, political science and public policy, education, or technology. 

 

 

 

 

 

For more information:

  • The UCLA Disability Studies LibGuide provides both database recommendations and tips on how to evaluate disability-related scholarship through a disability studies lens.
  • The UNC Catalog contains multiple resources about disability studies, including this reader:
  • To find out more about the field of disability studies in English-speaking countries, you can search our Articles+ database using the search terms "disability studies" or "disability studies" AND any subject of particular interest to you (i.e. public policy, university education).

What Is LAIR (Latin American and Iberian Resources)?

The Latin American and Iberian collections of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill support the broad range of research needs of Carolina's faculty and students in these world areas. Our holdings of over 500,000 volumes are primarily held in Walter Royal Davis Library, the central library for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  The strength of the collections complements the research interests of the many graduate programs in the humanities and social sciences.  In addition to acquiring materials in Spanish and Portuguese, our collections include volumes in several of the Maya languages, Guaraní, Galician, Catalán and Haitian Creole, among others.

Based on a long-standing cooperative agreement with Duke Univerity, UNC-Chapel Hill collects core materials from all Latin American countries, as well as research-level materials from Argentina, Brazil (humanities and literature), Chile, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Haiti, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Researching Latin America and Iberia

To learn more about the collection and how to research subjects in LAIR, see the Guide to Latin American & Iberian Library Resources.

Teresa Chapa, Latin American, Iberian and Latina/o Studies Librarian

Teresa Chapa's picture
Teresa Chapa
Contact:
Davis Library Global Resources & Area Studies

(919) 962-3948
  • Last Updated: Feb 26, 2021 11:23 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/disability-studies-LAIR