Skip to Main Content

ECON 490: Economics of Global Pandemics

Economic Data

U.S. Data
Global Data

COVID-19 Data Pages

screenshot of passport gmid covid 19 dashboard link

Financial Markets

Moody's Analytics | Tracking the Economic Impact of the COVID-19 Virus 

  • Continually updated. Effects of pandemic on economies and credit markets worldwide. Not all resources are available.

S&P Global | Economic Implications of Coronavirus 

  • Continually updated. As the situation surrounding the spread of COVID-19 continues to develop, markets around the globe are feeling its impacts. Our researchers and reporters are analyzing the coronavirus’ effects on the markets.

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (FRED): Economic Research | COVID-19 Research Resources 

  • Continually updated. "The most-current resources related to the COVID-19 pandemic from the economists and staff of the Research Division: preliminary and published analyses, daily data updates and projections, data tools, and a timeline of related events and policy responses."

IMF | IMF & COVID-19 

  • Continually updated. Collection of content produced by the IMF about how they are responding to COVID-19.

OECD | Tackling Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

  • Continually updated. OECD's portal for content related to COVID-19.

Statista | COVID-19 disease pandemic - Statistics & Facts

  • Also, search by keywords (e.g. "pandemic" and "covid") to find more statistics related to consumer spending, the economy, and more.
Employment Data

Homebase | COVID-19 Impact on US Local Businesses and Hourly Employees

  • Continually updated. "This data set is prepared by Homebase, a free scheduling and time tracking tool used by 100,000+ local businesses and their hourly employees. Homebase's customers in the US primarily consist of restaurant, food & beverage, retail and services and are largely individual owned/operator managed businesses." More information and insights            

US Department of Labor | Weekly Unemployment Insurance Claims Data        

  • "The Unemployment Insurance weekly claims data are used in current economic analysis of unemployment trends in the nation, and in each state. Initial claims measure emerging unemployment and continued weeks claimed measure the number of persons claiming unemployment benefits.”

  • Download the most recent Unemployment Insurance Weekly Claims Report

US Bureau of Labor Statistics | Effects of COVID-19 Pandemic on Employment and Unemployment Statistics 

  • Links to BLS datasets available to study COVID-19s effect on employment, including: Current Employment Statistics Survey, Current Population Survey, Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey, Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages, Local Area Unemployment Statistics, American Time Use Survey, and Employment Projections.            

Layoffs.tech | Explore Layoffs Map 

  • "Explore live updates of layoffs happening due to COVID-19. Data is collected by tips submitted to the Layoff List and public reports. Due to our geographic location we mostly focus on layoffs happening in North America but we accept tips from all over the world.”            

Layoffs.fyi | Coronavirus Tracker 

  • "Tracking all tech startup layoffs — and opt-in lists of employees laid off — since the coronavirus was declared a pandemic. Data is compiled primarily from public reports."            

SF Chronicle | Bay Area Layoff Tracker 

  • Searchable database that includes company name, number of layoffs, and city. Other fields being collected are: county, month, industry, and brief company description.

Mobility Data

Apple | Maps Mobility Data 

  • "You can download the complete data set, which features daily changes in requests for directions by transportation type for all available countries/regions, sub-regions, and cities."

Google | COVID-19 Community Mobility Reports 

  • "These Community Mobility Reports aim to provide insights into what has changed in response to policies aimed at combating COVID-19. The reports chart movement trends over time by geography, across different categories of places such as retail and recreation, groceries and pharmacies, parks, transit stations, workplaces, and residential.”                      

Uncast | COVID-19 Location Data Toolkit 

  • Continually updated. "COVID-19 is upending our health, our economy, and our world. Organizations in every sector are turning to location data and human mobility insights to measure its impact, create pivot strategies, and predict recovery." Uncast collects human mobility data from cell phones.            

Citymapper | Citymapper Mobility Index

  • Continually updated. Using data from the Citymapper app to see how usage of the mobility app has changed around the world in recent weeks.            

SafeGraph | The Impact of Coronavirus (COVID-19) on Foot Traffic

  • Continually updated. "SafeGraph data provides unique and valuable insights into these changes, particularly foot-traffic to businesses and consumer points-of-interest. At SafeGraph, we are committed to open access to information, so we built this dashboard to share SafeGraph data insights faster (updated daily)."

Consumer Spending          

US Bureau of Labor Statistics | Effects of COVID-19 Pandemic on BLS Price Indexes

  • Links to and information about how COVID-19 might affect data collection for popular consumer price datasets, including: Consumer Price Index, Import and Export Price Indexes, and the Producer Price Index.    
Internet Use

Broadband Now | Reports 

  • Reports released approximately weekly with data on internet speed and performance. Mostly focused on the US with some global data.    

Kasper Datahaus | Global Internet Pressure

  • "KASPR Datahaus’ Global Internet Pressure Map shows the effect of covid19 on local Internet Infrastructure. The map was created using measurements on the differences in the speed of internet packets traveling between the US and destinations regions reveal the pressure of the new tele-work reality." Mentioned in Hidden data is revealing the true scale of the coronavirus outbreak from Wired on March 20, 2020.

ICPSR | COVID-19 Data Repository    

  • "The COVID-19 Data Repository is a repository for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic."

FRASER (from St. Louis Fed): Uncurrent Events: Epidemics, Pandemics, and the Economy

  • Last Updated: Jan 10, 2022 1:21 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/econ490-pandemics