EBP Education Center of Excellence: Resources
" Best Practice information sheets (or guidelines) are produced specifically for practicing health professionals and are based on the best available research evidence as reported in systematic reviews."
- Availability: Best Practice Information Sheets are available electronically via the Joanna Briggs Institute website. Membership in the Institute includes access to a variety of other evidence-based resources and services.
"Clinical Evidence is an updated compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions. It provides a concise account of the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches of the literature."
- Review: See Family Practice Management 2003 Jul-Aug;10(7):49-52.
Clinical Evidence also has a concise edition, the Clinical Evidence Handbook (formerly known as Clinical Evidence Concise.) BMJ.
Review: See ACP Journal Club. 2003 Jan-Feb;138:A14 and Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries. 2003;2:49-56.
The Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels."
Availability: Previously available from Update Software, the Cochrane Library is now distributed through Wiley InterScience. Also available through OVID Technologies as part of Evidence Based Medicine Reviews.
The abstracts of Cochrane reviews may be searched free of charge at http://www.cochrane.org/reviews/en/. Abstracts of Cochrane reviews are also included in the National Library of Medicine's PubMed database.
- Also see the Webliography on the Cochrane web site, "an overview of the most important print and online resources for evidence-based health care and medicine."
"DynaMed strives to provide the best available evidence updated daily, and has more than 1,000 clinical topics" with content "derived from systematic literature surveillence" and synthesized with "other clinically relevant information for easy comprehensive browsing."
Review: See Family Practice Management 2003 Jul-Aug;10(7):49-52.
Availability: Contact DynaMed about paid subscriptions and discounts for participating health practitioners. Free 30-day trial subscriptions also available.
EMBASE.com specializes in the biomedical field, and "excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research." It covers the European literature as well as Medline. Searches can be limited to Cochrane reviews , meta-analyses and other categories of studies used in EBP.
Availability: Contact Embase.com to obtain a quote for a subscription.
"Launched in 1996, www.eMedicine.com comprises the largest and most current Clinical Knowledge Base available to physicians and other healthcare professionals. The evidence-based content, updated regularly, provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes 4 levels of physician peer review plus an additional review by a PharmD prior to publication."
- Review: See Med Ref Serv Q. 2002 Summer;21(2):47-54.
Essential Evidence Plus [formerly InfoPOEMS]
Essential Evidence Plus features must-have content, tools, calculators, and daily email alerts for clinicians who deliver first-contact care. New sections include:
- Availability: Essential Evidence Plus
- EBM Guidelines -- a concise, easy-to-use collection of more than 950 Practice Guidelines, more than 3,000 Evidence Summaries, and more than 1,000 images.
- e-Essential Evidence -- a reference tightly integrated and hyperlinked to all of the other resources in Essential Evidence Plus, including the Daily POEMs summaries and The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Abstracts.
"Evidence Matters' search engine allows a user to quickly assess therapy options for specific patients with a confirmed diagnosis." Diseases are grouped into two modules. Medical Evidence Matters allows you to assess therapy options for known medical conditions by comparing outcomes from the peer-reviewed literature…. Results are organised into summary tables and graphs so they can be easily assessed…. Psych Evidence Matters is a new, user-friendly system to help choose the best therapy options for a specific psychiatric patient with a confirmed diagnosis.
Review: See JMLA October 2006;94(4):480-482.
Availability: Currently available to institutions only. Modules can be purchased separately. See web site for more details. Evidence Matters.
Health Services Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
"A free, Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policy makers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups. "
Availability: The National Library of Medicine provides free access to this database at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/bv.fcgi?rid=hstat
InfoPOEMS: The Clinical Awareness System [see Essential Evidence Plus]
InfoPOEMS has changed names - go to Essential Evidence Plus for more details.
"Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses." Includes links to the Users' Guides, the Rational Clinical Exam series, core topics, calculators, podcasts, worksheets, Wizards, education guides, and learning tools.
- Availability: Subscriptions available for institutions, individuals, and pay per view from JAMAevidence.
- Review: See JMLA 2010 Jan;98(1):93
National Guideline Clearinghouse
"A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines produced by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , originally created in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP)."
To receive e-mail alerts on new or updated guidelines from NGC and other AHRQ sponsored sites, subscribe to the AHRQ Update Subscription Service at:
Complete NGC summaries of some guidelines are available on mobile devices. See the Companion Documents field in individual guideline summaries, or view a list of guideline developers (under Guideline Resources - Mobile Resources) who offer them.
"An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary editorial board."
- Review: See JMLA , 2005; 93(4);507-511.
- Review: See Medical Reference Services Quarterly , 2003 Fall;22(3):33-8.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.
Pepid Mobile Information Resources
Pepid provides access to comprehensive medical and drug resources. "PEPID LLC seeks to provide all health care professionals with instantly accessible, current, comprehensive, and authoritative clinical point-of-care reference materials to help them provide faster, more individualized, and more effective health care. Our goal is more satisfied practitioners and better patient outcomes."
PubMed / Clinical Queries
A specialized search, intended for clinicians and using built-in search filters has been recently revised by RB Haynes . Use one of two filters, systematic reviews or study categories--therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis while searching NLM's PubMed database.
Availability: The National Library of Medicine provides free Web access to this database at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/clinical
Search PubMed using Systematic Reviews or Clinical Queries filters on mobile devices. See NLM Mobile web site for details on this and other mobile applications from the NLM.
TRIP Plus Database
Trip Plus brings together all the 'evidence-based' healthcare resources available on the Internet. It started with 1,100 links recorded from 15 sources and has grown to encompass the addition of new forms of material including peer-reviewed journals and 'eTextbooks', giving the site a more rounded clinical appeal.
"A clinical reference designed to provide instant access to the information you need. It is comprised of thousands of original topic reviews written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations."
Review : See Journal of Family Practice Sept 2003; 52:706 and JMLA January 2003; 91(1):97.
Review: See Family Practice Management 2003 Jul-Aug;10(7):49-52.
- Availability: Individual and institutional subscriptions available from UpToDate
U.S.Preventive Services Recommendations
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. rigorously evaluates clinical research in order to assess the merits of preventive measures, including screening tests, counseling, immunizations, and preventive medications. Lists of topics include all recommendations: active, inactive, and in progress.
- Availability: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/recommendations.htm .
ACP Journal Club
Once a bimonthly stand-alone journal, ACP Journal Club is now, as of May 2008, a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine. As before, it provides summaries of "clinically important articles in the medical literature and systematic reviews" relevant to internal medicine, its sub-specialties and family medicine. "Easy-to-read abstracts facilitate scanning and digesting important information, and perspective-lending follow-up commentaries by clinical experts provide context, limitations, and clinical applications."
- Availability: NC AHEC Digital Library or contact American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine (ACP-ASIM)
- ACP Journal Club issues prior to May 2008 are available to subscribers at http://www.acpjc.org/shared/past_issues.htm
ACP Journal Club Plus
Available as a free trial subscription to ACP members, this enhanced version provides online access to all articles that pass the ACP Journal Club criteria, including email alerts and a searchable database of articles from 2003 onward.
"Bandolier is a print and Internet journal about health care, using evidence-based medicine techniques to provide advice about particular treatments or diseases for healthcare professionals and consumers."
Review: See ACP Journal Club 2000; 133(2): A-15.
Availability: Available in print or online at http://www.medicine.ox.ac.uk/bandolier/
Evidence-based Complementary and Alternative Medicine (e-CAM)
"An international, peer-reviewed journal that seeks to understand the sources and to encourage rigorous research in this new, yet ancient world of complementary and alternative medicine."
Availability: From Oxford University Press
Evidence Based Practice
Recently revised format now begins every article "with a clinical question chosen by practicing family physicians. The answers are explained by members of the Family Physicians Inquiries Network, a national consortium of academic and practicing family physicians, medical librarians, and others dedicated to translating research into practice."
Availability: Contact FPIN
Journal of Family Practice
Published by the American Academy of Family Physicians. In addition to articles geared towards family physicians, this journal has a section entitled "Putting Evidence into Practice" which includes POEMS, Applied Evidence reviews and Clinical Inquiries authored by Family Practice Inquiries Network (FPIN) clinicians and librarians.
Availability: NC AHEC Digital Library
Available free to physicians in active practice who are registered with the American Medical Association as general or family practitioners, or are registered as primary care physicians with the American Osteopathic Association
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing
A journal from the same publishers of Online Journal of Knowledge Synthesis for Nursing (OJSKN), Worldview on Evidence-Based Nursing includes "knowledge synthesis articles with best practice applications and recommendations for clinical practice, nursing administration, nursing education and public health care policy."
Bryant, P, Pace H. The Pharmacist's Guide to Evidence Based Medicine for Clinical Decision Making,
Bethesda, Md. : American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, 2009.
The book was especially developed for the busy practitioner who can read through the text in an evening or two and immediately apply the 5-Step Evidence-Based Medicine Process to his or her practice setting. Although there is an assumed minimal level of pharmacotherapy, literature evaluation, study design, and interpretive biostatistics knowledge for the reader, reference to additional reading is made to assist those requiring a review of those foundational topics. Developed to give clinical pharmacists an edge, this book provides a practical approach for applying sound EBM principles to your clinical decision making process.
Courtney, Mary, McCutcheon, Helen. Using Evidence to Guide Nursing Practice. 2nd ed.
Sydney: Elsevier Churchill Livingstone, 2009.
"This new edition is divided into five concise sections which guide readers from an examination of evidence, to developing a workplace culture that supports Evidence-Based Practice. It demonstrates how to locate and appraise evidence, how to evaluate practice and finally how to translate evidence into practice with a new applied case study included."
Gehlbach, Stephen H. Interpreting the Medical Literature:Practical Epidemiology for Clinicians. 5th ed.
New York : McGraw-Hill, Medical Pub. Division, c2006.
"Provides health care professionals with a proven approach to reading and understanding research articles in medical journals. Filled with examples of current and classic medical studies, the Fourth Edition features new chapters on conflicting studies, literature and public policy, and interpreting drug trials."
Review (5th edition): See Journal of the Medical Library Assoc January 2007.
Glasziou, Paul P, [et al] eds., Evidence-Based Medical Monitoring: From Principles to Practice.
Malden, Mass. ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub./BMJI Books, 2008
This book discusses how monitoring principles adopted in other spheres such as clinical pharmacology and evidence-based medicine can be applied to chronic disease in the global setting. With contributions from leading experts in evidence-based medicine, it is a ground-breaking text for all involved in delivery of better and more effective management of chronic illnesses.
Greenhalgh, Trisha. How to Read a Paper: the Basics of Evidence Based Medicine. 4th ed.
London: BMJ, 2010.
"The book is an ideal introduction for all, from first year students to experienced practitioners. This is a text that explains the meaning of critical appraisal and terms such as 'numbers needed to treat', 'how to search the literature', 'evaluate the different types of papers' and 'put the conclusions to clinical use'."
Guyatt, Gordon and Rennie, Drummond, eds.
Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 2nd edition
New York: McGraw Hill, 2008
"A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice presents the sophisticated concepts of evidence-based medicine (EBM) in unique ways that can be used to determine diagnosis, decide optimal therapy, and predict prognosis. It also offers in-depth expansion of methodology, statistics, and cost issues that emerge in medical research. The CD-ROM enables an intuitive, nonlinear learning experience in coordination with the text."
Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 2nd edition
New York: McGraw Hill, 2008
"Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice will help you develop the core knowledge you need to take control of the medical literature — to uncover the relevant information, assess its validity, and determine whether it applies to your patient. The pocket-sized Essentials is succinct yet thorough in its exposition of the concepts, making it the ideal text to tote along on the wards. Affordably priced, the book and CD-ROM constitute a thorough, comprehensive, and clinician-friendly evidence-based medicine toolkit."
Reviews: See Medical Reference Services Quarterly,28:2,195-196.
Kover, Anthony R. [et al]. Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare.
Chicago: Health Administration Press, 2009.
Learn what evidence-based management (EB management) is and how it can focus thinking and clarify the issues surrounding a decision. The book provides a straightforward process for asking the right questions, gathering supporting information from various sources, evaluating the information, and applying it to solve management challenges. Numerous real-life examples illustrate how the EB management approach is used in a variety of situations, from inpatient bed planning to operating room scheduling to leadership development. These examples also demonstrate the potential costs and benefits of EB management.
McKibbon, Ann. Eady, Angela and Marks, Susan. PDQ: Evidence-Based Principles and Practice. 2nd ed.
Beijing, China: People's Medical Publishing House, 2009.
Discusses different types of research methodology used in the medical literature. Also gives search strategy suggestions for searching the major medical literature databases, such as MEDLINE, CINAHL and PsycINFO.
- Review: See BMJ 1 April 2000;320:947.
Mayer, Dan. Essential Evidence-Based Medicine. 2nd ed.
Cambridge University Press, 2009.
" Essential Evidence-Based Medicine teaches the principles of research study methodology and design. The text is geared towards the new learner, and assumes little clinical experience, starting with the basic principles of critical appraisal."
Platt, Alan. Evidence Based Medicine for PDAs: A Guide for Practice:Text with CD-ROM for Windows and Macintosh .
Boston Jones & Bartlett, 2009.
"Provides a brief overview of PDA basics and detailed descriptions of select EBM resources available for use on a PDA. The accompanying CD-ROM demonstrates the use many of the databases discuss."
Polit, D., Beck, C. Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice, 7th ed.
Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2009.
Essentials of Nursing Research is designed to teach students how to read, understand, analyze, and evaluate research reports in nursing practice. The Seventh Edition has been updated with stronger coverage of evidence-based practice, including content on how to read, interpret, and critique systematic reviews, which are considered by many to be a cornerstone of evidence-based practice. Also included in the Seventh Edition: a more balanced presentation of medical and social science methods and nomenclature; enhanced coverage of qualitative research; and more!
Riegelman, Richard Studying a Study and Testing a Test: How to Read the Medical Evidence, 6th ed.
Philadelphia, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2012.
Gives a step-by-step process of critically appraising the health sciences literature, including overviews of statistical concepts and useful exercises.
Sackett, David L, [et al]. Clinical Epidemiology How to Do Clinical Practice Research , 3rd ed.
Boston: Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, 2005
The third edition of this popular text focuses on clinical-practice research methods. The book has a problem-oriented and protocol-based approach and is written at an introductory level, emphasizing key principles and their applications.
Sackett, David L.[et al]. Evidence Based Medicine - see note under Straus entry below.
Straus, Sharon E.[et al]. Evidence-Based Medicine, 4th ed.
New York: Churchill Livingstone, 2011
Evidence Based Medicine provides a clear explanation of the central questions of EBM - how to ask answerable clinical questions, how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence, how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance, and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences.
Note: Earlier editions of this book were edited by David Sackett and are commonly referred to as "Sackett's book on EBM". Straus took over as first editor when the 3rd edition was published.