English 105i - 002: Chronicling the People of the Federal Writers' Project & WWI Rhetoric, Fall 2018 (Prof.Michael Gutierrez)

Index to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.

Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.

An index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Major indexing and full text database for African American studies. It includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a series of essays by leading scholars about the Black Experience; HistoryMakers, a streaming audiovisual collection of 100 oral history interviews (of 2-3 hours each and corresponding transcripts) with prominent contemporary African Americans; historical backfiles of The Chicago Defender and Daily Defender; the International Index to Black Periodicals, which covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles; and Black Literature Index, which contains bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.

Offers indexing of over 500 popular periodicals and magazines for a period of over 100 years. From the presidency of Benjamin Harrison to the election of Ronald Reagan, from the Spanish-American War to the Cold War, from the "robber barons" to the oil embargoes, the Readers' Guide provides access to articles chronicling the daily lives and the momentous events of America in the 20th century.

Contains resources helpful for family history or biographical research including census records, military service files, obituaries, city directories, birth and death indexes, and more.

UNC users will not be able to create family trees, nor participate in the Ancestry.com message boards.

Note: Access to this resource is restricted to on-campus use only. Off-campus access is prohibited.