Skip to main content

English 105i - 002: Chronicling the People of the Federal Writers' Project & WWI Rhetoric, Fall 2018 (Prof.Michael Gutierrez)

North Carolinians and the Great War: Posters

UNC Catalog Search

Advanced Search | New Books | WorldCat

Databases for Scholarly Analysis

Oxford Art Online (above) May have biographical information on the graphic artists responsible for the posters.

Searching Primary Source Databases

Newspaper & magazine articles from the time of WWI are useful for getting a feel for what the war was actually like for participants and for those on the Home Front. When searching the full-text databases of newspapers & magazines below, you will probably want to limit your search by date to the relevant time period (eg., 1914-1918).  When searching you will need to think of synonymous keyword search terms for your topic.

Also, at the time of the conflict, "World War I" is not used, of course.  "World War," "World's War" & "Great War" tend to be used in reporting.

Primary Source Newspaper & Magazine Databases

American Periodicals Series (above) now includes American periodicals through about 1930 & provides coverage for WWI.

How to Read a Library of Congress Call Number

Pearl James, Picture this: World War I posters and visual culture / Link to E-Book

(Image may be subject to copyright)

Don't Waste Food While Others Starve! L. C. Clinker and M. J. Dwyer / DocSouth Link

(Image may be subject to copyright)

The Ships Are Coming (James Henry Daugherty, Artist) / DocSouth Link

(Image may be subject to copyright)

Blood or Bread... Henry Raleigh, 1880-1945

(Image may be subject to copyright)

Hun or Home Henry Raleigh, 1880-1945

(Image may be subject to copyright)

  • Last Updated: Mar 2, 2021 6:21 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/engl105i-002f2018