English 105i - 002: Chronicling the People of the Federal Writers' Project & WWI Rhetoric, Fall 2018 (Prof.Michael Gutierrez)
We've made changes in response to COVID-19. Here’s what to know about campus libraries for spring 2021.
North Carolinians and the Great War: Posters
UNC Catalog Search
Searching the UNC Catalog
Potentially Useful Subject Headings
Databases for Scholarly Analysis
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
America, History and LifeAn index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
Oxford Art OnlineProvides a single portal for searching across several major art encyclopedias and dictionaries, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Entries include bibliographies for further research, images, and often examples of artists' signatures.
Oxford Art Online (above) May have biographical information on the graphic artists responsible for the posters.
-
askArt DatabaseFind biographical information on artists.
-
Mantle Fielding's dictionary of American painters, sculptors & engravers [print]This may include some American artists not in Oxford Art Online (above)
Searching Primary Source Databases
Newspaper & magazine articles from the time of WWI are useful for getting a feel for what the war was actually like for participants and for those on the Home Front. When searching the full-text databases of newspapers & magazines below, you will probably want to limit your search by date to the relevant time period (eg., 1914-1918). When searching you will need to think of synonymous keyword search terms for your topic.
Also, at the time of the conflict, "World War I" is not used, of course. "World War," "World's War" & "Great War" tend to be used in reporting.
Primary Source Newspaper & Magazine Databases
-
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.
-
New York Times Historical NewspaperAvailable through the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, offers over 3 million pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper, from 1851 to 2 or 3 years ago. Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
-
American Periodicals Series OnlineContains over 1,000 journals published between 1740 and 1900. American Periodicals From the Center for Research Libraries provides full text to nearly 400 journals. The collection contains special interest and general magazines, labor and trade publications, scientific and literary journals, and photographic periodicals,. See "About" within the database for a fuller description.
American Periodicals Series (above) now includes American periodicals through about 1930 & provides coverage for WWI.
-
British Library NewspapersThe most comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers in Britain between the 18th and the mid-20th centuries. Taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library.
-
Times (London) Digital ArchiveA full-image online archive of every page in the complete run of the world's oldest continuously published newspaper. Please note that online coverage of the Times after the end date in this database is available in several sources. Click here for more details.
-
Guardian (1821-2003) and Observer (1791-2003) Historical NewspapersThe Guardian and The Observer are two major newspapers from the United Kingdom, and offer additional perspective to that of the Times of London.
-
Periodicals Index OnlineProvides keyword indexing to the articles of over 4700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences in dozen of languages from their first issues to 1995.
-
Readers' Guide RetrospectiveOffers indexing of over 500 popular periodicals and magazines for a period of over 100 years. From the presidency of Benjamin Harrison to the election of Ronald Reagan, from the Spanish-American War to the Cold War, from the "robber barons" to the oil embargoes, the Readers' Guide provides access to articles chronicling the daily lives and the momentous events of America in the 20th century.
How to Read a Library of Congress Call Number
Pearl James, Picture this: World War I posters and visual culture / Link to E-Book
(Image may be subject to copyright)
Don't Waste Food While Others Starve! L. C. Clinker and M. J. Dwyer / DocSouth Link
(Image may be subject to copyright)
The Ships Are Coming (James Henry Daugherty, Artist) / DocSouth Link
(Image may be subject to copyright)
Blood or Bread... Henry Raleigh, 1880-1945
(Image may be subject to copyright)
Hun or Home Henry Raleigh, 1880-1945
(Image may be subject to copyright)
- Last Updated: Mar 2, 2021 6:21 PM
- URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/engl105i-002f2018
