GLBL 221: The Migratory Experience: Articles & Books
Article Databases
- America, History and LifeAn index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)A source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, tables of contents of selected journals, and conference proceedings.
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen.
Sample Subjects:
Immigrants -- [Country or Region] example: Immigrants -- United States
[Country of origin or destination] -- Emigration and immigration example: Italy -- Emigration and immigration
(Political) Refugees -- [Country or Region] example: Political refugees -- Cuba
Connect with us
