GLBL 691H: Honors in Global Studies: Images & Video

A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.

Watch PBS feature length programs from the 'American Experience' series, the 'Frontline' investigative journalism series, and 'Scientific American Frontiers' as well as documentaries like Ken Burns' 'Baseball' and 'The Civil War' online. UNC-TV, North Carolina's statewide public television network, is contributing resources to make the streaming video content available to online users.

Note: Requires Firefox on computers located inside UNC-Chapel Hill libraries.

Watch thousands of full length documentaries from Films Media Group's Master Academic Collection online. Subject areas include: Humanities & Social Sciences, Science, Business & Economics, and Health. The collections are dynamic.

Note: Connect through NCLive.

Watch full length documentary and educational ethnographic films online. The database is designed to use the films specifically for teaching and research and includes Study Guides, filmmaker biographies, interviews, release notes, etc. alongside many of the titles. Geographic and cultural group browses allow users to highlight sections of a map to find result sets, and searchable transcripts scroll with the films.

Note: Click and play.

Watch online - diverse collection of 1000+ issue-based documentaries and independent films from around the world. Subjects include but are not limited to: African Studies, African-American Studies, Agriculture, American Studies, Anthropology, Art, Biology, Business, Communication Studies, Computer Science, Cultural Studies, Drama, Education, Environmental Studies, Literature, Film, Geography, Medicine, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.

Note: Click and play.