HIST 373: The United States in World War Two, 1941-45: Primary Sources
Newspapers
To investigate more about doing research with newspapers, consult our Finding News Stories guide.
-
ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.
-
Newspapers.com (North Carolina Newspapers)Provides access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present. UNC users have access to a large selection of North Carolina newspapers through a partnership between Newspapers.com and the UNC University Library.
Note: Please clear your browser's cache and cookies if you are having problems accessing this resource -
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.
Letters, Papers, Archives
-
Finding Primary Source MaterialsThis local guide provides assistance in pursuing research using primary sources, especially those we have available here in several formats: paper, republication, microfilm, and electronic. The database below helps identifies primary source repositories around the world.
The Libraries offer many primary source documents, in a variety of formats.
Many digitized collections can be found on the History databases page.
For materials relating to Southern, North Carolina, and University history, visit our Wilson Special Collections Library. Plus, many of these materials have been digitized. One digital collection that may be of interest is A Nursery of Patriotism: The University at War, 1861-1945
You can also search the online catalog for primary sources, using words such as: personal narratives, autobiographies, diaries, letters, records, sources, interviews, archives, or archival sources:
Other sources include:
- Southern Oral History Program
- Library of Congress Digital Collections; check out the Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information photographs by Dorothea Lange and others.
- Many other research libraries have digitized collections that can be found using Google!
Connect with us
