HIST 398: Olympic Games and Global Politics: Digital Collections

This portal allows researchers to search across multiple types of resources including magazines, conference proceedings, and academic journals.

Library of the Olympic Studies Centre in Switzerland. The digital collections include official publications, journals, and selected dissertations. Some of the journals require a subscription for access; you can check to see if you have access through UNC's library.

The IOC is the non-governmental organization that organizes the Olympic Games. Its website includes highlights and official reports from past Olympics as well as documentation on funding, licensing, and other logistics.

Selected papers of the South African Non-Racial Olympic Committee, which was formed in South Africa in 1962 and led the international sports boycott of apartheid South Africa.

Searchable database that ranks nations by gold medals, total medals won, medals per capita, medals per GDP, and other variables.

Annual reports from Freedom House, a non-governmental organization dedicated to research on democracy, civil liberties, freedom, and human rights. Link is to current report, but earlier years are available.

From the National Security Archive at George Washington University. CIA and other documents on the Tlatelolco Massacre.

From the Israel State Archives. Only a few reports are available in English and German, with a link to the Hebrew website for the full collection.

Document from the CIA Library Electronic Reading Room.

From the Wilson Center Digital Archive.

From the Wilson Center Digital Archive. Includes documents on the boycott of 1980 Olympic Games in Moscow.

From the Wilson Center Digital Archive. Includes documents on the political and diplomatic aspects of international hockey during the Cold War.