In today s world of modern research methods, the irony is that even though more materials are readily available now than ever before, this proliferation of sources has actually made the process more difficult for the novice researcher.
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by Mary B. Norton (Editor); Pamela Gerardi (Editor)
Publication Date: 1995-03-30
This entirely new edition of a keystone reference is the place to start researching any topic in any field of history.
The History Highway by Dennis A. Trinkle; Scott A. Merriman
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
"The History Highway" is widely recognized as the one essential tool for students, teachers and researchers seeking a reliable guide to history sites on the web.
Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations are a great means to learn about recent scholarship and to find in-depth bibliography.
Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1861 to present
Provides indexing and some full text access to dissertations completed here at Chapel Hill and submitted to the Dissertations Abstracts database. It provides citations for Chapel Hill dissertation from the 1920s and Masters theses from 1966 on.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1920s to present
Free access to dissertations and theses submitted electronically to the Graduate School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for graduation. Coverage begins in the spring of 2006. Please note that paper and electronic submissions were both accepted through November 2007, and this database does not include dissertations and theses submitted in paper during that period. Electronic submission of all dissertations and theses was required beginning in May 2008, so all dissertations and theses submitted to the Graduate School on or after that date are included in this database.