INLS 501: Information Resources and Services: Database Evaluation
Academic Library
-
FactivaU.S. newspapers include the Wall Street Journal and other business titles.
Tech Note Go to Search / Search Builder to start searching. More help from: Factiva User Guide from ProQuest (pdf)
Tip See this Search -
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full TextCitations to articles from over 1,000 legal journals. Includes legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. 1981 to present.
-
ScopusScholarly journal articles with a heavy emphasis on science. International scope. Excellent for citation searching. 1996-present for citation searching; 1966 to present for general searching.
Public Library
-
Films on DemandOver 6000 streaming videos in the following subject areas: humanities & social sciences, business & economics, science & mathematics, and health & medicine.
-
HeritageQuestAmerican genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
-
Learning Express LibraryPractice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
Special Library, Archives, or Museum
-
ARTstorOver 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences . See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
-
Biography Index RetrospectiveBiographical information about famous, and even infamous, people from the ancient world to 1983.
-
North American Women's Letters and DiariesIndex of over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence from Colonial times through 1950.
-
Readers' Guide RetrospectiveArticles from popular, general-interest periodicals such as Harpers, Newsweek, Saturday Review, and more. From the former Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Covers articles published 1890-1982.
Resources
Components of Source Evaluation from Class Jamboard
-
Sample team presentation from Spring 2016. (pdf)Relevant slides for this assignment:
Who We Are… Searching …. Access … To Consider.
same password as for the class presentations.
Connect with us
