Interprofessional Education (IPE): Finding Information about IPE

There are many published articles on IPE. You can search different databases for articles on IPE and related concepts. Below you can find searches that you can copy into databases to get articles on IPE.

Searches

IPE searches have been developed and validated in this article: Carlson R, Nachman S, Zerden LS, Mani N. Validation of an interprofessional education search strategy in PubMed to optimize IPE literature searching. J Med Libr Assoc. 2024 Jan 16;112(1):33-41. doi: 10.5195/jmla.2024.1742. PMID: 38911530; PMCID: PMC11189142.

You can directly copy these searches into PubMed, or modify them based on your needs.

Narrow Phrase Search

(IPE[tiab] OR “interprofessional education”[Mesh] OR “interprofessional education”[tw] OR “inter-professional education”[tw] OR “interdisciplinary education”[tw] OR “inter-disciplinary education”[tw] OR “multiprofessional education”[tw] OR “multidisciplinary education”[tw] OR “multi-professional education”[tw] OR “multi-disciplinary education”[tw])

Narrow Title Search

(interprofessional^*[ti] OR inter-professional^*[ti] OR multiprofessional^*[ti] OR multi-professional^*[ti] OR interdisciplinary[ti] OR inter-disciplinary[ti] OR multidisciplinary[ti] OR multi-disciplinary[ti] OR multioccupational[ti] OR interoccupational[ti] OR inter-occupational[ti]) AND (student^*[ti] OR educat^*[ti] OR learn^*[ti] OR train^*[ti] OR teach^*[ti] OR curricul^*[ti] OR simulat^*[ti] OR school^*[ti] OR course^*[ti])

Broader Keyword Search

(IPE[tiab] OR “interprofessional education”[Mesh]) OR ((interprofessional^*[tiab] OR interprofessional^*[tiab] OR interdisciplinary[tiab] OR inter-disciplinary[tiab] OR multidisciplinary[tiab] OR “Interprofessional Relations” [Mesh]) AND (student[tiab] OR students[tiab] OR educate[tiab] OR educating[tiab] OR educator[tiab] OR educators[tiab] OR education[tiab] OR instructor[tiab] OR instructors[tiab] OR instruction[tiab] OR teaching[tiab] OR training[tiab] OR trainee[tiab] OR trainees[tiab] OR curriculum[tiab] OR curricula[tiab] OR simulation[tiab] OR simulations[tiab] OR shadowing[tiab] OR “clinical practicum^*”[tiab] OR “clinical placement^*“[tiab] OR “experiential learning”[tiab] OR teamwork[tiab] OR “Education, Professional”[Mesh] OR “Clinical Competence” [Mesh]))

Databases

There are several different databases that you can use to find articles on interprofessional education and practice.

PubMed

PubMed is a biomedical database, covering a wide variety of fields such as medicine, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. It also contains articles published on interprofessional education and collaboration. You can find more information about searching PubMed in our PubMed Guide.

Embase

Embase is a biomedical database with a more global scope than PubMed. You can find more information about searching Embase in our Embase Guide. In order to use the search hedges from PubMed in Embase, copy and paste the PubMed search of interest into the Embase query translator. Embase will change the search to work in Embase's interface.

Scopus

Scopus is an interdisciplinary database with articles on STEM, social science, and humanities topics, making it a great resource for finding IPE articles. You can find more information about searching Scopus in our Scopus Guide.

There are many books and videos about IPE. UNC provides access to many of these resources. Below, we have included links to searches for books and videos about IPE in the UNC catalog. When you follow the links, you will find pages in the UNC catalog with resources related to IPE.