Skip to Main Content

Japan Studies Primary Sources: Art Works, Images, and Maps

Visual sources and material culture

UNC library:

UNC Maps of Japan: a list of maps of various nature available at UNC Libraries

Open Access Sources

East Asia Image Collections (English)

- An open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan, Japan, China, Korea, Manchuria, and Indonesia are included.

Japan Archives 1850-2100 「ジャパンアーカイブズ」 (Japanese):

- It  contains many pictures from 1850 to present.

Online Gallery of the National Diet Library (English):

- The database features 24 digital exhibitions of the National Diet Library's unique collections with easy-to-understand explanations.

Japanese Old Photographs In Bakumatsu-Meiji Period, Nagasaki University Library Collection (English and Japanese):

- A collection of old photographs, approximately 7,000, taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu through to the Meiji period.​

East Asian Maps in the Bruman Collection by University of California Los Angeles
 
This site aims to collect information related to Japanese culture published in museums, libraries, etc. around the world, and to provide them with a common and reusable format. Discover digital resources on Japanese Culture from all over the world. More than a million items are collected for this platform to inspire novel applications.
 
Meiji University Ashida Map Collection 「明治大学蘆田文庫ホームページ」
 
The University of British Colombia (UBC)'s Tokugawa map collection
 
UC Berkeley East Asian Library's Japanese Historical Map Collection
 
- A database launched at the MIT in 2002 containig digitized visual records about China, Japan, and the Philippines
 
Digitized museum collections:
  • Last Updated: May 6, 2022 11:33 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/japan_primary