Skip to Main Content

Japan Studies Primary Sources: News

Newspapers & Journals available through UNC Libraries

Japan Times Archives (digital): The Japan Times Digital Archive provides access to 117 volume years of English-language Japan Times from 1897 through 2015. It offers full-text searching for more than 490,000 pages of text, with full page image display including photos, illustrations, and advertisements.

Keshi Kaji けーし風  (printed): a quarterly magazine about Okinawan culture

Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries (digital): Kikuzo II Visual from the Asahi Shimbun Company is an online article database that permits easy investigation of past events. It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, including 15 million articles and advertisements from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today.

Nikkei Telecom (digital): Nikkei Telecom provides various business data on individual companies from corporate overview to financial and credit information, in Japanese.

Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive 羅府新報 (digital): Rafu Shimpo is the longest-running Japanese-American newspaper in the United States founded in 1903. The resource contains all obtainable issues from 1914 to the present. Every issue with full high-quality page images (including photos, graphics, and advertisements). New contents added annually. 

Tenri jihō 天理時報 (printed): weekly newspaper of Tenrikyō, one of Japan's "new religions" established in the 19th century by Nakayama Miki

The Japan Punch (printed): a satirical comic magazine and journal that was authored, illustrated and published by English painter and cartoonist Charles Wirgman from 1862 to 1887. The publication reflected the social context of Yokohama and often depicted the frustrations that emerged from conflicts between Japanese domestic politics and early foreign settlement life in Japan.

The Japan Weekly Mail (printed and digital): a major newspaper in English published in Yokohama between 1870 and 1915.

News Service Agencies

  • Last Updated: May 6, 2022 11:33 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/japan_primary